Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Hardware and hardware??

  1. #1

    Default Hardware and hardware??

    Can shed some light whether what computers u guys are using to edit ur photos ??

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel Lyn
    Can shed some light whether what computers u guys are using to edit ur photos ??
    Me using P4 3.0Ghz, 1 GB Hyper X Ram, 40GB x 4 in RAID 0 configuration. More on video editing solution

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    2,548

    Default

    Moved thread to a more appropriate location and removed OT posts before moving.

    Ian
    Moderator
    Nikon Forum
    The Ang Moh from Hell
    Professional Photography - many are called, few are chosen!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    my house
    Posts
    315

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel Lyn
    Can shed some light whether what computers u guys are using to edit ur photos ??
    me using either winxp P4 3.0ghz 512mb ram or ubuntu linux P3 500mhz 320mb ram.
    Nikon D5000, D70; Nikon 18-55, 18-70, 70-300; Sigma 18-250, 50-500.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel Lyn
    Can shed some light whether what computers u guys are using to edit ur photos ??
    I'm still running on my 2.4 Ghz from 2002. Upgraded to DDR-333 1GB RAM though. Runs PS CS II fine but a bit slower than CS.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    2,548

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel Lyn
    Can shed some light whether what computers u guys are using to edit ur photos ??
    Dual P4 3.02GHZ
    4 Gig RAM
    2.1 TB of SCSI ultra 320 drives in a Raid 0+1 array
    Matrox Parhelia (256mb) video card
    Dual 21" Sony Monitors
    Gretag McBeth Eye One Photo calibration system
    The Ang Moh from Hell
    Professional Photography - many are called, few are chosen!

  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Just a normal system...

    AMD64 3000+ (rated 1.8GHz)
    Dual Channel DDR-400 1GB

    It works faster than me... at least for now...

  8. #8

    Default

    Running on:

    AMD64 3000 SC939 on Abit AV8
    1GB DDR Ram
    Radeon 9600 128MB Pro Video Card

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default

    Simple low-end setup:

    P4 3.0E
    1GB Dual-channel DDR-DRAM
    74GB Western Digital Raptor
    (Used to have a 18GB SCSI disk as well before formatting my computer today)
    Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB Graphics Adaptor
    Eizo L568 LCD

  10. #10

    Default

    AMD Athlon XP 2800+
    Kingston 512MB PC-3200 x 2
    Maxtor 160GB (DM9) and Western Digital 40GB
    ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian
    Dual P4 3.02GHZ
    4 Gig RAM
    2.1 TB of SCSI ultra 320 drives in a Raid 0+1 array
    Matrox Parhelia (256mb) video card
    Dual 21" Sony Monitors
    Gretag McBeth Eye One Photo calibration system
    1. Hold on a sec..4 GIG Ram! Do you use it for maybe 3D or other purposes?
    2. What size document do you generally work with?
    3. Can reveal/PM me what company you work with?

    Thanks, I'm just curious..

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    www.whltelightphotographer.com
    Posts
    1,835

    Default

    Apple G4 533mhz 1Gb ram and 64mb Graphic card

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian
    Dual P4 3.02GHZ
    4 Gig RAM
    2.1 TB of SCSI ultra 320 drives in a Raid 0+1 array
    Matrox Parhelia (256mb) video card
    Dual 21" Sony Monitors
    Gretag McBeth Eye One Photo calibration system

    Impressive setup..
    I'm assuming you meant Dual Nocona Xeons since the Dual-P4 (Pentium D) is only available on 945/ 955 chipsets which use PCI-E and the Parhelia is an AGP card..

    2.1TB on a RAID 10 array is like... Woah... 14 HDD's.. Running off 2 x 39320A-R cards with the Adaptec Hardware Controller supplement card, I presume? Pretty much saturates 64-bit/ 66MHz PCI-X per card...

  14. #14

    Default

    AXP1800+
    768MB PC2100
    280GB total HDD, RAID 0
    Viewsonic P75f+
    & a dirty keyboard and mouse

  15. #15
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    Apple Macintosh G4/400 with 1GB RAM

  16. #16

    Default

    powermac g4 dual 1.42ghz
    2gig ram
    800gig hdd
    20" cinema display
    photoshop cs2

  17. #17

    Default

    AMD A64 3000+ (SC754) + Gigabyte 3D cpu cooler
    2 x 512MB DDR400 RAM
    1 x SATA Seagate 160GB, 1 x PATA WD 80GB HDD
    ViewSonic 19" VX924 8ms LCD monitor
    ATi Radeon 9500pro Dvi out.
    Antec TruePower 480watt PSU

    Canon 40D|17-55 f/2.8 IS|100 f/2.8 Macro|135 f/2L|300 f/4L IS|430ex|BG-E2

  18. #18
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    My humble rig:

    Thermaltake Xaser 2 Tower Casing
    P4-3GHz + Thermaltake Silent Tower
    MSI Neo2 865PE mainboard
    2x infineon OEM 512MB + 2 x Geil 256MB Ram
    1 x WD 36GB HDD + 1 x Maxtor 120GB HDD
    Nvidia TI4200 Graphic card
    Viewsonic 17" LCD
    8x +/- TDK DVD writer
    380W Tagan PSU

  19. #19

    Default My setup

    My setup is

    P4 - 2.6hz
    2X 512MB PC3200 RAM
    2X Hitachi 120GB HD
    HP DVD 4X writer
    Matrox G550

    Got IDE raid card but no more space to put additional HD. Any suggestion?

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ernest
    My setup is

    P4 - 2.6hz
    2X 512MB PC3200 RAM
    2X Hitachi 120GB HD
    HP DVD 4X writer
    Matrox G550

    Got IDE raid card but no more space to put additional HD. Any suggestion?
    Buy a new casing? Heh.. The HEC 6AU6 is a pretty decent and cheap casing..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •