Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: creating a film negative border in PC CSII?

  1. #1
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default creating a film negative border in PC CSII?

    i was trying to create a border as described in the article below, which i found.
    http://www.vividlight.com/articles/2816.htm nice. but, not exactly was i was looking for.

    i was hoping to find instructions on how to create a 'film negative' border (with all the holes, codes and numbers) as one would find in a negative. does anyone know where i can download the instructions?

    TIA!
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed.” ― Deeksha Mittal

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    2,548

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    i was trying to create a border as described in the article below, which i found.
    http://www.vividlight.com/articles/2816.htm nice. but, not exactly was i was looking for.

    i was hoping to find instructions on how to create a 'film negative' border (with all the holes, codes and numbers) as one would find in a negative. does anyone know where i can download the instructions?

    TIA!
    The best method is to get hold of some processed real film and a vernier caliper or accurate ruler and measure it all up and duplicate the frame. That's what I did years ago and it looks the part too. If you don't have a film camera then try asking around on CS and see if anyone has a strip of dud shots they will give to you, or try a photolab for an offcut.
    The Ang Moh from Hell
    Professional Photography - many are called, few are chosen!

  3. #3
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian
    The best method is to get hold of some processed real film and a vernier caliper or accurate ruler and measure it all up and duplicate the frame. That's what I did years ago and it looks the part too. If you don't have a film camera then try asking around on CS and see if anyone has a strip of dud shots they will give to you, or try a photolab for an offcut.
    thanks, Ian! i read abt this in photo.net too. someone in US recommended scanning a neg, do some editing to remove the frame only and then create a layer for it. wondering if there are other ways to do it (cos i dun have a film scanner), short of buying a CD-worth of frames online...
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed.” ― Deeksha Mittal

  4. #4

    Default

    Try this PS action:

    http://www.liknes.no/photoshop/specialfx.htm

    There is a tutorial to go with it.

  5. #5
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Verywierd
    Try this PS action:

    http://www.liknes.no/photoshop/specialfx.htm

    There is a tutorial to go with it.
    thanks! however i'm looking for a single-frame script or download.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed.” ― Deeksha Mittal

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    eh NW, i think you should download it and try it out.. i feel it is exactly what you need.

    It has the film sq holes and 'bar code' thingy, exactly like film only think is that they dun have the brand and type . I think if you edit the layer from 3 frames to 1 and make your own action/script shouldn't be too hard or take too long.. else you can even edit the actions provided. It just repeats the same process 3 times.. delete away 2 other times and you have it already.
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  7. #7
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    use the action and crop away the ones that you don't want
    or look at what the action does and edit it to suit your own needs.

  8. #8

    Default

    Hi...i would recommend you to use AutoFX software...
    http://www.autofx.com/dreamsuite2/ef...filmstrip.html

    It lets you create the negative filn strip with holes and numbers...

    Let me know if you are keen...

  9. #9
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by reyesbloom
    Hi...i would recommend you to use AutoFX software...
    http://www.autofx.com/dreamsuite2/ef...filmstrip.html

    It lets you create the negative filn strip with holes and numbers...

    Let me know if you are keen...
    Their s/w is good, currently using PGE 6 & Mystical Lighting.

    You're retailing the dreamsuite2?

  10. #10

    Default

    Hi hi......glad to know u are enjoying PGE6, its a great product and yes i am reselling full range of AutoFX products as well as some other graphics related products(DGFOTO Album, Alienskin, Adobe, etc)...can give better pricing...

    sorry, my "reyesbloom" account has some problem...now i am "raye99"...cheers...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    north by north-east
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Hi NW,

    This might be what you are looking for:

    http://epaperpress.com/psphoto/

    Go to Frames/35mm Film.

    Cheers,
    loob

  12. #12
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,839
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loobeedoobeeroo
    Hi NW,

    This might be what you are looking for:

    http://epaperpress.com/psphoto/

    Go to Frames/35mm Film.

    Cheers,
    loob
    ah! thanks!

    finally!
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed.” ― Deeksha Mittal

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •