Thread: Developing digital prints

Exclamation Developing digital prints qns, please help.

Hi to one and all,

I am a newbie and a very new one at that. I want to develop some of shots from my digital camera. I did some touch ups on Photoshop 7. Gonna make a montage as well. Some questions i need answers to:

1) Do i need to crop the pix to 3:2 for a 4 R print?
    2) What ratio for a 5R print?
    3) What are the min resolutions for 4R and 5R?
    4) What happens if i don't crop them?
    5) If i had cropped my photos to small sizes can the printing shop fit them to 4R size?

Sorry for the silly questions, and i would be very appreciative if anyone could assist or advice. Any additional info would be great too!

Thanks a million!
    Last edited by Jonny; 30th September 2002 at 03:01 PM.

Can some regulars please advise? Thanks

Hi Jonny. Here are some very quick answers to your questions, since no one else has answered them yet... do a search here on ClubSNAP if you want more info, as I believe this topic has cropped up (pun not intended! ) numerous times in the past:

Originally posted by Jonny
    1) Do i need to crop the pix to 3:2 for a 4 R print?
    No, but if you want to fill all the space of the 4R print, your photo will need to be cropped to 3:2. However, this can be done either by you yourself, or by the lab doing the printing. See also the answer to Q4 below.

2) What ratio for a 5R print?
    5R is a 5"x7" print, so the aspect ratio is 5:7.

3) What are the min resolutions for 4R and 5R?
    There isn't really such a thing as "minimum resolution", because what constitutes acceptable output depends entirely on individual preferences. However, most people feel that 150ppi (pixels per inch) is sufficient for "good" output, and 300ppi is "excellent".