Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Others > FAQs and Feedback

FAQs and Feedback Frequently Asked Questions are kept in here. You can also feedback on the site/forum and suggest new ideas.

Old 15th July 2005   #1
zekai

Default Do not close down kopitiam

i for one rather enjoy reading and discussing some other issues away from photography.
Old 15th July 2005   #2
plinius

Same here!

Pls!!! Pls!!! Don't close down KPT!!!!

Originally Posted by zekai
i for one rather enjoy reading and discussing some other issues away from photography.
Old 15th July 2005   #3
Pablo

Have I missed something here ???

Is kopitiam in threat of closing down

That means I will have to talk to everyday normal people about my life and camera's
Old 16th July 2005   #4
King Tiger

Originally Posted by Pablo
Have I missed something here ???
Is kopitiam in threat of closing down
Yo Pablo

Read here and you will know the why the issue arise.
Old 16th July 2005   #5
King Tiger

I enjoy surfing clubsnap everyday. Reading, discussing, organising photo outing with CSers.

Aside from that, I go to Kopitiam forum to read other issues not relate to photography, where they are news, jokes and interesting issue post and discuss by CSers.
It is a kind of balance state between photography and Kopitiam where every CSers can enjoy.

CS have been growing in numbers as more and more people will learn about Clubsnap.
But being a moderator is a tough job, not easy one, got to monitor the Kopitiam to prevent some thread may be out-of-control and to state/argue/explain/clarify (athough it is not a need for Mod and Admins to so) should issue arise. Believe all this are time consuming and frustration if things went bad.

But for the admins and mods, for the benefit of all, please dun close Kopitiam.
Things are not as bad as it is, always look on the bright side of life.
Believe you guys can find a better way to improve the situation and alot of Csers will behind you.

Old 16th July 2005   #6
tao

hmmmm, photographers, amateurs or pros also should go to Kopitiam to drink Kopi and chitchat once in a while right? what is wrong with our virtual Kopitiam?
Old 16th July 2005   #7
mattlock

I think I would lose alot of interest in this forum if that was closed down
it would just become another faceless forum on photography.
Photography's so closely related to life and daily life, we should discuss more about life and photography should be the result of our lives instead

I get a better sense of who the people in the forum are when I read the kopitiam and it makes me feel more inclined to be interested in the forum, and post more constructive stuff like critiques.

otherwise any other forum would do.
Old 16th July 2005   #8
afbug

Originally Posted by tao
hmmmm, photographers, amateurs or pros also should go to Kopitiam to drink Kopi and chitchat once in a while right? what is wrong with our virtual Kopitiam?
I dun know. Some people are so boring that they have nothing to talk about except photography. Why so uptight and straight as a wood block? IMHO, all good forums need an off topic sub forum.
Old 19th July 2005   #9
metalgear

how about leaving the kopitiam forum unmoderated, else the off topics will creep into to the regular sections.

to manage this set up clear warnings that this section is NOT moderated (enter at your own risk) and time postings to expire after a stipulated date e.g. 30 days or so.
Old 19th July 2005   #10
kahheng

Originally Posted by afbug
I dun know. Some people are so boring that they have nothing to talk about except photography. Why so uptight and straight as a wood block?
Because they ARE as uptight and boring as blocks of wood. Hang on, even wood can be more interesting than them.
Old 19th July 2005   #11
ParkertR

i hope kopitiam doesnt close too!!
Old 19th July 2005   #12
Hommie

Originally Posted by King Tiger
Yo Pablo

Read here and you will know the why the issue arise.
Actually, it started earlier:

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=138820

Read post of #64 on the above link. Suggested by Jason Ho.
Old 19th July 2005   #13
reachme2003

Lightbulb

your heading is puzzling to me. what prompted you to raise this feedback?

Originally Posted by zekai
Old 20th July 2005   #14
Darren
ClubSNAP Admin

The Kopitiam sub-forum is not going to be closed down BUT we are monitoring the threads and posts within Kopitiam to ensure that our guidelines are being met.
Old 20th July 2005   #15
reachme2003

Lightbulb

are guidelines self imposed by CS or by regulatory agencies?

Originally Posted by Darren
The Kopitiam sub-forum is not going to be closed down BUT we are monitoring the threads and posts within Kopitiam to ensure that our guidelines are being met.
Old 21st July 2005   #16
Jason Ho

Originally Posted by reachme2003
are guidelines self imposed by CS or by regulatory agencies?
Both. CS is a website hosted in Singapore therefore we are binded by the laws here too. At the same time, this forum is owned by CS and therefore we have our own guidelines based on what we feel is good and right for this forum.

I have always urged everyone not to get too personal with decisions made by us when moderating this forum. Admins and moderators are here to help and maintain the forum operation and NOT to fight any member(s), so dont treat us like enemies.

Last but not least, if you feel any wrong or theres a mistake in the decisions, raise it up in a nice way. Hostile or provocative words will never get msgs across and things will never get resolved. I give everyone one last tip, forum is always good for sharing knowledge and chit chat about photography. But its rarely a good place to settle issues or problems espcially personal ones. I am sure most of you have heard of the saying "Too Many Cooks can spoil the soup" or 人多口雜. My PM inbox and email are always open to suggestions and comments from everyone and anyone. So feel free to send me or any admin a msg.

Thanks!
Old 21st July 2005   #17
nemesis32

The rules and regulations are necessary but honestly who will read it before they post? Just very simple guidelines will suffice.... topics regarding SEX, RELIGION and POLITICS are always controversial and should be banned, the rest is subjective and should be subject to the mods' discretion. I dun see anything wrong.
Old 21st July 2005   #18
LimCB

singaporeans needs to talk C. Pls don't close it.

sincerely, CB.
Old 21st July 2005   #19
kahheng

Originally Posted by LimCB
singaporeans needs to talk C. Pls don't close it.

sincerely, CB.
There's always the Sammyboy forum at Delphi. A lot of Singaporeans like to talk there.
Old 21st July 2005   #20
LimCB

im not a Singaporean.
Closed Thread