Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

  1. #1

    Default Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Hi all.. I juz bought a Yongnuo 560 iii external flash.. Wen i mount it on my d3100 the flash doesnt fire.. I set the flash Manual so as my d3100 to manual but i still cant seem to get it fire.. When i use auto the build in flash pop up.. Usually wen u mount e flash it would automatically work right.. Is there somethibg wrong with e shoe mount?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Singapore when back at home
    Posts
    813

    Default

    Please check that the flash mount is pushed into the hot shoe all the way & it is locked. Check by giving the flash a slight at the hot shoe & see if it slides out, by right it will not if it's fully seated & locked down.

    If not try a reboot / reset to the flash.

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default

    You will need another flash, and another camera body to know which one is not working.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Quote Originally Posted by Light Machinery View Post
    Please check that the flash mount is pushed into the hot shoe all the way & it is locked. Check by giving the flash a slight at the hot shoe & see if it slides out, by right it will not if it's fully seated & locked down.

    If not try a reboot / reset to the flash.
    I did push it all the way in & lock it but the problem still persist maybe i need to check it on another body & flash to find out the cause..

  5. #5

    Default

    Check that it's not on the manual wireless receiver mode which can only be triggered by the RF603 trigger. On the right side of the display panel, do you see an icon that looks like the "wifi" icon? If yes, press the mode button a few more times til it goes back to manual without that wifi icon.

  6. #6
    Moderator rhino123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    5,247

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Er... I know it is stupid for me to suggest, but I think, you could check to see if the salesperson actually gave you the correct flash. Was it for Nikon or Canon?
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

  7. #7

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Yes i did check e manual setting is not with wifi yet its still doesnt fire. Yn 560 iii is compatible wif nikon & canon. Based on youtube it can fire on both brands yet im still not sure of problem im facing. Hot shoe is fit all the way in, settings is manual on both flash & camera body no wifi signal for flash.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    try to press the red button on the flash to see if it can test fire? if yes, then is not problem with flash, so u can narrow down the issue..
    Shut up and shoot!!
    Flickr!

  9. #9

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Check out the suggestions in this thread: http://photo.stackexchange.com/quest...th-nikon-d3100

    - Check that you are in manual (M) mode on the camera and flash
    - Check that your shutter speed is 1/200 or lower
    Last edited by kandinsky; 12th June 2014 at 11:21 AM.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Test fire the flash it works.. Try in on shutter speed 1/200 1/180 1/160 & lower wif aperture f.8 higher & lower still doesnt work. Not sure wat is blocking the communication from yhe body to the flash..

  11. #11

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Quote Originally Posted by darkzyrax View Post
    Test fire the flash it works.. Try in on shutter speed 1/200 1/180 1/160 & lower wif aperture f.8 higher & lower still doesnt work. Not sure wat is blocking the communication from yhe body to the flash..
    The minimum pin connection for manual mode to work is the center pin on the hotshoe, if nothing is connected in the center, it will never fire.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Quote Originally Posted by darkzyrax View Post
    Test fire the flash it works.. Try in on shutter speed 1/200 1/180 1/160 & lower wif aperture f.8 higher & lower still doesnt work. Not sure wat is blocking the communication from yhe body to the flash..
    Hmm, can rule out user error then. Signs point to a possible hardware issue. More likely to be the YN (assuming Nikon's QC is better than YN's, but could be either). Next step is to do what Catchlight suggested in post #3 to narrow down the fault.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Yn 560 iii does not fire on d3100

    Pin is connected to centreof the hotshoe. Check & recheck by a friend of mine. Most probably i will follow catchlight advise. Before dat do i need to do any setting on my camera dat may cause the interference between the connection?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •