Thread: Marina Bay Sands and Flyer

Default Marina Bay Sands and Flyer

Hi guys. My first picture upload in this forum, so please don't flame me. I was encouraged by mardellion to post my pics here, so I'm looking for areas to improve in.

1. in what area is critique to be sought?

Composition, post-processing

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

Just wanted to have a picture of the beautiful skyline with MBS and flyer together

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

It was late at night at gardens by the bay east.

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

I think the pic can definitely be improved, whether in the shot itself, or in post-processing. Just not sure what I should be doing, as I'm a newbie.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Default Re: Marina Bay Sands and Flyer

Composition doesn't work. Why is there a need to have the MBS and Flyer in one photograph? The MBS is "lost" in the cluster of buildings and the Flyer is too close to the edge of the frame. Compositional balance is thrown off completely.

Quote Originally Posted by Kit View Post
    Composition doesn't work. Why is there a need to have the MBS and Flyer in one photograph? The MBS is "lost" in the cluster of buildings and the Flyer is too close to the edge of the frame. Compositional balance is thrown off completely.
    Thanks for the honest comments Kit! I came across the scene and I wanted to capture as much of it as possible. How would you suggest I improve the shot? I admit there's not much breathing space for the Flyer. Should I try not to have both of them together ?

The river bank is so long, just walk along the river bank to find a best angle to "move" the flyer.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    The river bank is so long, just walk along the river bank to find a best angle to "move" the flyer.