Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: How to reverse mount 50mm lens onto FZ5 for Macro shot?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default How to reverse mount 50mm lens onto FZ5 for Macro shot?

    As title, wonder is it possible? And how to do it?
    Since FZ5 is 55mm, what reverse ring or adaptor I need to get? Please guide me, thanks.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    the dot on the map
    Posts
    778

    Default

    hi zcf, are you planning to use a 50mm lens? you should find out the size of the lens thread (ie the size of the thread in front of the lens for filters). a 50mm lens means that the focal length is 50mm; not the thread size.

    for you to mount, you can get a step down ring to mount on your fz5. then get a reverse ring to mount the fz5 and 50mm lens together.

    fz5 --> 55 to 52mm step down --> 52mm reverse ring <-- 50mm lens

    do note that once you have this setup, you can only use manual focus.

    hope this explanation helps.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    Thanks for clarifying, if need to use manual focus only, then FZ5 is out of question, as it doesn't have manual focus.

    No wonder I can't find any FZ5 reverse macro post.

    In this case, I guess I can only purchase some filter to help it only.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  4. #4

    Default

    Ever used the prefocus function?
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eow
    Ever used the prefocus function?
    you mean lock the focus by half press the release, then attach the lens on later and shoot?
    Don't know is it feasible or not??? But it's a bit troublesome also.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  6. #6

    Default

    troublesome but worth trying
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  7. #7

    Default

    I thought I read something about unseen saying that fz5 has some digital manual focusing? Maybe I'm interpreting this wrongly.
    Quote Originally Posted by unseen
    if need manual focus, FZ5 has a focus button to help fix/change focus. something like a controlled manual focus.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by natnivek
    I thought I read something about unseen saying that fz5 has some digital manual focusing? Maybe I'm interpreting this wrongly.
    Don't remember I read that in the menu, may be have to re-read again.
    I do know that if your half press release, if not focus correctly, you can re-half press release to re-focus again.

    may be need unseen to help out.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  9. #9

    Default

    You can use auto focus. Just focus anything nearby and then move your setup to refocus the object until it looks sharp in the LCD and SNAP .
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb
    You can use auto focus. Just focus anything nearby and then move your setup to refocus the object until it looks sharp in the LCD and SNAP .
    In this case, it seem like worth trying, thanks.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    But once you need to re-focus, you'll have to remove the setup. Personally I feel the "focus lock" button a little out of place too!

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb
    You can use auto focus. Just focus anything nearby and then move your setup to refocus the object until it looks sharp in the LCD and SNAP .
    I think you're right... When I was doing macro, I found it easier to first get a "rough" focus then slowly adjust MY camera's distance from the subject until the image is sharp. But cannot be too blur to start with lah.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    the so called digital manual focus is the focus lock thing.
    it locks the focus. allows the camera to focus only when you press the focus button.
    when it is set, then you press or half press also won't focus.

    hope my answer helps.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen
    the so called digital manual focus is the focus lock thing.
    it locks the focus. allows the camera to focus only when you press the focus button.
    when it is set, then you press or half press also won't focus.

    hope my answer helps.
    Those with FZ5 should know better. I mention this before and saw this thread:
    http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=13812521

    FZ5 has a FOCUS button at the back. Maybe you guys see if this can work out for your camera.....

    I think your manual state something too...
    Last edited by tchuanye; 11th July 2005 at 05:01 PM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    Thanks, now then I notice there is a "focus" button "sharing with the bin button"

    Learn new things every day. Thanks.
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zcf
    As title, wonder is it possible? And how to do it?
    Since FZ5 is 55mm, what reverse ring or adaptor I need to get? Please guide me, thanks.
    hey bro do share the pics when you completed the setup, its nice seeing the fz5 exploring more and more!!!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    but first I need to get the necessary part, looking for 50mm at B & S. but don't know camera shop got:
    "55 to 52mm step down ring"
    &
    "52mm reverse ring"
    anyone know how much they usually cost?
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  18. #18

    Default

    Zcf,
    the best place to look for such lens is at cash converter..saw a 50mm f1.8 for sale at $50++ lens thread is 52mm
    55-52mm can be bought from prime camera shop(beside cathay photo) at PZ
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    270 degree of Singapore
    Posts
    6,741

    Default

    looking for canon 50mm lens currently, as thinking of moving to 350D next year.

    It also depend on the condition of the lens, but $50 is indeed cheap.

    Thanks for the info, just like to know usually how much it cost, so I won't be "slaughtered".
    Sony Alpha 700 hobbyist

  20. #20

    Default

    A question..

    if :

    72 -> 62 -> 55 -> 52

    will this works ??
    Stress Man @ work... :bigeyes:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •