Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 53

Thread: Project Superstar, Wcon n Slave Flash on FZ5

  1. #21

    Default

    wow its really a sock.. is that a special sock for flash or just and old sock?

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    haha it's a diffuser. bought at CP for $7 i think.
    there's the hard plastic type and there's this sock type.

    I just call it a sock. i've a feeling if we get a good pair of non cotton sock, we can use it as a diffuser too.

    wait till u see my home made bounce card. and my up and coming project of an 6XAA battery pack for the FZ camera, idea taken from don chua, in midst of doing..

  3. #23

    Default

    must make u my shi fu already.. im too poor to get a better camera so im trying very hard to make my fz5 function like a dslr.. can the slave flash work in bright sunlight? i need fill flash

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen
    from my testing:

    FZ 5 fires 1 flash in the day (when the flash is used as fill in flash, and the surrounding is bright). normally outdoors, in the sun, or super bright room.

    fires 2 flashes when it's darker. as a very rough guide line, sunlight about 6:30pm or so, or in an average lit room..

    so judge yourself see if u need to set your slave to detect 1 flash or 2 flashes.. emoblitz one i can switch between the 2 of them..
    ew...... my achiever one cant.
    i better go check it out again
    thanks bro!!!

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by reiv
    must make u my shi fu already.. im too poor to get a better camera so im trying very hard to make my fz5 function like a dslr.. can the slave flash work in bright sunlight? i need fill flash
    I'm but a learner like you. I'm still experimenting. Only thing short on FZ5 is manual focus (which 95% of the DSLR users don't use anyway) and hotshoe. yeah slave can shoot in bright sunlight too. definitely. but i dunno how far can it detect.. generally i can move in a hemisphere radius of 1 arm length and still get flash..
    well don't make the camera be like an dSLR. make it work the way u want can le. dSLR or not, 75% of the reputable branded digital cameras cam produce superb images.

    Let's all learn together.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    Thanks! Is that the Emoblitz DS328AZ? Available from Funan Centre?

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen
    my mounting bracket now:


  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Hi "Unseen" just a simple question ... how does that slave fire the flash .. like when it know where to fire and how does it know when we going to press the shutter button?

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,156

    Default

    The photos are pretty good

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    ok a bit technical.
    camera flashes (or any other flashes) triggers the photosensor/diode/resistor.
    the slave will follow and flash.
    photo is taken.

    for digital cameras, most of them fires 2 flashes. 1st flash helps the camera to take auto whitebalance, 2nd flash to take photo. most digital slaves will need to support the 2 flashes. for the FZ5, it's intelligent enough to flash once only if used as a fill flash. thus, your slave will need to support both 2 flashes and 1 flash

    Why it works: Flash fires for 1/1000 of a second (if i don't remember wrongly), and usually shutter speed is fixed at 1/60 of a second (you can always use less). if u think about it, the shutter is open for a much longer time than the flash firing. thus, there's enough time to fire another burst of flash.
    if there are 2 flashes and set to wait for 2 flashes, then it'll wait for 2 flashes, and fire on the 2nd.
    if 1, then it'll burst straight away.

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    28

    Default

    HI "unseen",

    Thanks for explaination even thought not fully 100% understand (due to my slow CPU) heheh ... but I think I got the "picture".

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    hmm basically.. when the internal flash flashes, the external flash will follow.
    that's all to it.. you're welcomed.

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    But would there be a case where the shutter speed is so fast, that by the time the slave flash fires, the shutter has closed?

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    eh...
    if your shutter speed is something like 1/400, then i don't think you'll be needing much of flash..
    BUT.. at max power, the flash is on for a lil longer.. say 1/1000 of a second.
    shutter speed of 1/100 - 1/1000, you still got ALOT of time for the photoresistor/diode to react.

    if flash not firing at full blast, the speed is even faster.. heard/read that flash can fire as fast as 1/50000 when minimum power..
    by comparison, shutter speed max is usually 1/4000 for the top of the line cameras. as
    for high shutter speed it's assumed u haf alot alot alot alot of light, but need a bit of fill flash, so min power will do..

    in theory, there shouldn't be such a case.
    In practical, if your battery is running low... anything goes..

  14. #34

    Default

    just dropped by ap today and got the flash.. very difficult to get the desired effect! i turned to S1 and fired it directly at my target.. super bright.. over exposed.. so i pointed the flash up and tried again.. this time underexposed.. what is wrong??

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by reiv
    just dropped by ap today and got the flash.. very difficult to get the desired effect! i turned to S1 and fired it directly at my target.. super bright.. over exposed.. so i pointed the flash up and tried again.. this time underexposed.. what is wrong??
    Use a bounce card.

  16. #36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by donchua
    Use a bounce card.
    hmm it seems to only work when the flash is firing at full power.. but im not sure how to make it fire at full power all the time!

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    Can share how much you paid for the flash? Huggable thinking of getting one too! You can get the "sock" like unseen to diffuse the flash light.

    Quote Originally Posted by reiv
    just dropped by ap today and got the flash.. very difficult to get the desired effect! i turned to S1 and fired it directly at my target.. super bright.. over exposed.. so i pointed the flash up and tried again.. this time underexposed.. what is wrong??

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    Thanks for the insight explaination! I'll get 1 to try out myself. Surprising the so called higher end models, like Suntax, does not allow the flash to swivel. For the "false trigger" problem with the slave flash, can I block the sensor so that it would not detect the flash from other cameras?

    Quote Originally Posted by unseen
    eh...
    if your shutter speed is something like 1/400, then i don't think you'll be needing much of flash..
    BUT.. at max power, the flash is on for a lil longer.. say 1/1000 of a second.
    shutter speed of 1/100 - 1/1000, you still got ALOT of time for the photoresistor/diode to react.

    if flash not firing at full blast, the speed is even faster.. heard/read that flash can fire as fast as 1/50000 when minimum power..
    by comparison, shutter speed max is usually 1/4000 for the top of the line cameras. as
    for high shutter speed it's assumed u haf alot alot alot alot of light, but need a bit of fill flash, so min power will do..

    in theory, there shouldn't be such a case.
    In practical, if your battery is running low... anything goes..

  19. #39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huggable
    Can share how much you paid for the flash? Huggable thinking of getting one too! You can get the "sock" like unseen to diffuse the flash light.
    $55.. haha the guy quoted me $65 but i said i heard other ppl got it for $55 so he got no choice.. heh

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default Got my Emoblitz!

    Huggable went to AP during lunchtime to get the flash. Will try it out tonight.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •