Thread: The Merlion

Default The Merlion

Hi, this is my first time taking landscape photography and merge two photos together. Your comments are much appreciated! Thanks!

1. in what area is critique to be sought?
    Composition, ability to bring viewer's attention to the subject and photography techniques such exposure and colour control.

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?
    I hope my picture can make the viewer feel like they are there at the place where the picture was taken. That is my ultimate goal. Of course i have a long way to go. With this picture i hope the viewer can feel the breeze and the calm of the night. I think to give the picture the 'feeling', composition, exposure and colour plays a big part.

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
    i was using FF with 24-70mm F4, tripod. 2 exposures: one was focusing on the Merlion 25sec F8 manual, the other is on the MBS 15 sec F8 manual.

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture. I think there is no doubt the Merlion was the subject. The picture is 'clear' and i like it. However i find the picture to be a little cluttered. its like the MBS is squeezed to the left frame. Well, the 24-70mm is the only lens i have and i make do with it till i get a UWA.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Default Re: The Merlion

Firstly, there are many blown highlights in the photo. Mainly the foreground, near the base of the merlion and the base of mbs. These distract the viewer from the main subject. Since you are already using multiple exposures, you could probably expose for those areas separately with a shorter shutter speed.

Horizon is tilted. Can be corrected in post but best to correct it on site.

The sky is flat. You may want to take the photo during the golden or blue hours. The sky would be much more interesting then.