![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
|
Hi guys,
I might be helping my friend to shoot some outdoor portrait shooting for his project. The compo of the pic will involve a car and the owner, shoot will be around noon time in a open field and i'll be using the 828 i got recently for the shoot. As i haven't done portrait before (usually i do landscape and street), can anyone give some pointers to me like what i supposed to look out for and any dos or don'ts for the shoot? Thanks! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
hmm you could invite us to go together... (please email or pm me the pic of the model...
)its TFCD.. if you want, i can use my F828 together with you or use a DSLR...
|
|
#3 |
|
|
Hi Del_CtrlnoAlt,
I'm so sorry cos it's my friend's project (and it's his company project) and not mine, i'm not really in a position to invite you guys... So sorry about it.Still, i would love to get some advice from you guys esp when you all have so much experience while i'm still a newbie. ![]() Last edited by Rui; 7th July 2005 at 02:15 PM. |
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 |
|
|
think u stay buangkok... near to our founder's area...
![]() but if you got any specific problems you wanna ask, can pm us, else we dun even know where to start... we can write a book for you leh...
|
|
#5 | |
|
|
Since it involve the car and owner, there is some nice site you can explore like Punggol End where the place are spacious. There is no rules of what you cannot do this, what you cannot do that. Rules are make to be broken. Explore your ideas. Who knows, you maybe a great photograpger ![]()
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
|
To work around the bokeh issue, try to shoot at telephoto, e.g. 105mm. Exploit the F828! Shoot infra-red (but need IR72 filter to shoot in daytime). But frankly, I personally don't bother with all these technical details. Just shoot and it'll look fabulous!! Seriously, apart from purple fringing, more grain and less bokeh, F828 performs and produces images as good as DSLR! |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
|
Del_CtrlnoAlt, thanks for the offer! Haha, maybe i can use the "book now"..Actually, the first thing that popped into my mind was that the shoot is gonna be in the noon and i read some article before stating that it is not really advisable to do potrait at noon time. Why is that so and how to overcome the prob? Btw, who's our founder? (heehee, new to this forum, so dun really know the people in here ) |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
|
As i never did portrait before, i'm quite worried that i might break some rules that experienced photographers frown upon. But seeing your statement, that really put me at ease. Think i'll just go ahead to trust my instinct and try my best! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
|
I've been taking some shots over the last 3,4 weeks or so with my 828. I can truthfully say that so far it has been a great experiece for me! Wonderful images and a lot of freedom in this cam! Like what you mentioned, the only thing was that bokeh's not quite enough for me sometimes (still it's been a vast improvement compared to my first ultra-compact digi-cam). And thanks again, i'll keep advice to use shoot at telephoto in mind to work the bokeh issue. ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
|
![]() anyway y not noon, cos 1stly, if you use life models, they will get very warm and sweaty due to the sun... also, the shadow cast on the models will be harsh as well, very hard to get good lighting on other areas... you may need reflectors in such instance = more manpower... anyway do you have a concept in mind what you wanna take in perspective? if you have, den draw us a picture, we think together lor...
|
|
|
#11 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
|
Heehee, now i know who's the founder! Read from another thread that he just got upgraded to "Emperor" status.. Thanks, now i know why people try not to shoot in the noon..hmm, i dun have a reflector but is it possible to use a flash to fill out the shadows? Do you think it will work? ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
|
Thanks for the advice catchlights! Actually i did tried asking my friend if we are really doing the shoot, is it possible to do in the late evening when we have better natural warm light... but he told me that the models are his managers (think he need the shoots for his company newsletter.. didn't really probe too much..) and they are only free during that time...Still, thanks for the advice and i'll keep it in mind if i intend to do my own portrait shooting. ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 | |
|
|
Then is there anywhere you can recommend a good reflector and how much does it cost? Maybe can ask my friend to buy one since he's the one needing the photos. ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
|
i just thought of something... think you going to get hell of a time with reflectors or flash as well... but since thats a problem, tats a solution as well... use the car as a reflector... positioning is an essence now... how to create bounce light from the car... this you have to try...
you may or may not get yourself in the view of the car... you have to take note of that as well... hence a big reflector confirm can be seen on the car... You may need a Circular Polariser to remove the reflection off the glass panels of the car. you can get reflectors from any big enough camera shop... price varies...
|
|
#18 | |
|
|
2) Use RAW. For digital color corrections and high quality image. 3) Be aware of the background of your image. Make sure nothing is cluttered or distracting. 4) Might consider bring a litlle ladder or something as you might need the altitude to gain a different perspective of the shots. |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 | |
|
|
Thanks man! You are good! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 | |
|
|
Didn't really think of point 4 before and i'm glad that you mentioned it.Just wanna say you guys are a great bunch of friendly people and i really appreciate it! |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|