Thread: Which camera should i get? Sony Nex 5N or Pentax K30?

Default Which camera should i get? Sony Nex 5N or Pentax K30?

Hi i am new to photography. I'm currently saving up for a new camera however I'm not too sure which camera i should buy and really need some advice because i dont want to waste my money by purchasing the wrong camera. The camera shop workers isn't much of a help since they totally disregarded me seeing how young i look.

I am planning to get a camera to take photos of mainly people and scenery and daily things in life (food,etc). I have researched and seen some reviews about both sony nex 5n and pentax k-30 cameras and i am really lost in trying to pick out either of the camera.

I am totally new to photography so in terms of skills i am a newbie if it helps in decision making at all. Just really want to get a interchangeable lens camera as i have tried one of a old canon PowerShot cameras that my friend had and really dislike how little control i have over it :/

I'm only heading down to try out the cameras nearing the date of getting the camera since the workers probably wouldn't allow me to try out at all. Hope i can get some advice that can help me decide !

Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by jesterxuan; 21st April 2014 at 10:44 PM.

Default Re: Which camera should i get? Sony Nex 5N or Pentax K30?

The pentax k30 has already been discontinued and has been replaced by the k50. So if you want a k30, you would only be able to get it 2nd hand. I've been using a k30 by the way and no regrets so far. It would be good as it has many features like twin dials, pentaprism viewfinder, etc.. which can usually only be found on higher end cameras.

Between the sony nex 5n and the pentax k30, it mostly also the matter of whether you want a mirrorless or a dslr. Both will be good at taking people and landscapes, though the k30 would give you slightly more manual control than the former. The nex 5n would be good for streets though, due to its size.