Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 50

Thread: Connecting multiple batteries in series

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    It's near AIA building. You travel on Alexandra Road, with Ikea on your left. Go pass Ikea, you'll come across a big cross junction. Pass the junction, and you can see Queensway shopping centre on the right. On the left you should be able to see a DBS bank, and an OCBC bank. There are a few low-rise HDB flats. Walk along the OCBC bank area, there are a few hardware shops. They sell stuffs from spray paint, pipes for renovation, and of course, tools, and screws, nuts etc.

    I can check out the hardware shop unit # the next time I pass by the place. PM me if you need the address.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huggable
    It's near AIA building. You travel on Alexandra Road, with Ikea on your left. Go pass Ikea, you'll come across a big cross junction. Pass the junction, and you can see Queensway shopping centre on the right. On the left you should be able to see a DBS bank, and an OCBC bank. There are a few low-rise HDB flats. Walk along the OCBC bank area, there are a few hardware shops. They sell stuffs from spray paint, pipes for renovation, and of course, tools, and screws, nuts etc.

    I can check out the hardware shop unit # the next time I pass by the place. PM me if you need the address.
    Bro, pm you liao..
    Looking for the screws too..

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    there's a shop in kelantan lane that sells ONLY SCREWs.. whatever kind of commercial standard screws also they have..
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    I have received a few PMs; just to clarify, I do not know the size of the nut to be used. However, I can bring my tripod to the hardware shop to check out the actual size, and share the address of the hardware shop. My tripod can be used on my Pana FZ5, in case there are other tripods having screw threads of other dimensions.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huggable
    I have received a few PMs; just to clarify, I do not know the size of the nut to be used. However, I can bring my tripod to the hardware shop to check out the actual size, and share the address of the hardware shop. My tripod can be used on my Pana FZ5, in case there are other tripods having screw threads of other dimensions.
    Best to bring the cam along and try the screw.
    If can screw in, that is the screw we looking for..
    I bring my cam to try at those hardware shops around my estate but
    couldn't find the correct type.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yanyewkay
    there's a shop in kelantan lane that sells ONLY SCREWs.. whatever kind of commercial standard screws also they have..
    Which shop?
    That side seem to have lots of hardware shops..
    If huggable can't locate it, I will try at that shop.

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Hey guys, I bought the bolts & nuts already. I just went to the hardware shop at my house downstairs and was quite surprised to find it immediately. I think the one I got is the M6 but they have the M8 (the bigger one) too! It's selling like 10cents for a set of 1 bolt & 1 nut. The diameter is 1/4". The lengths available are 1/2", 3/4", 1", 1 1/4" (I think), 1 1/2", 2" etc etc... Unfortunately my FZ-20 screw thread is about 1/4" deep and the shortest they have is 1/2" so I guess I'll have to sweat abit & saw it off...

    By the way, I stay at AMK Ave 4. If any of u knows, the shop is at the market there... just at the roadside...

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    3,704

    Default

    I've just measured the tripod screw, and it should be M6. Will put the tripod in my car tomorrow am.

    don: Do you still need the info on the hardware shop, and screw/nut size? The earliest I'd pass by AV is probably next week, kinda out of the way as I live in the east! Just let me know, K?

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karnage
    Hey guys, I bought the bolts & nuts already. I just went to the hardware shop at my house downstairs and was quite surprised to find it immediately. I think the one I got is the M6 but they have the M8 (the bigger one) too! It's selling like 10cents for a set of 1 bolt & 1 nut. The diameter is 1/4". The lengths available are 1/2", 3/4", 1", 1 1/4" (I think), 1 1/2", 2" etc etc... Unfortunately my FZ-20 screw thread is about 1/4" deep and the shortest they have is 1/2" so I guess I'll have to sweat abit & saw it off...

    By the way, I stay at AMK Ave 4. If any of u knows, the shop is at the market there... just at the roadside...
    Bro, yours is bolt & nuts type.
    Is it like the pic below?


  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huggable
    I've just measured the tripod screw, and it should be M6. Will put the tripod in my car tomorrow am.

    don: Do you still need the info on the hardware shop, and screw/nut size? The earliest I'd pass by AV is probably next week, kinda out of the way as I live in the east! Just let me know, K?
    I will still need the info if your side is the 'Countersunk Philip head screw' type
    or without countersunk and not bolt type as shown above thread.

  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by donchua
    Which shop?
    That side seem to have lots of hardware shops..
    If huggable can't locate it, I will try at that shop.
    5 - 6 years ago, it was called "King Screws".. Now.. not sure...

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Hi Don, no, mine's not the bolt kind as in the pic. Sorry for the misuse of nouns. Mine is a "-" head but not countersunk one... know what I mean? It sorta bulges at the top, like a dome, yeah.

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karnage
    Hi Don, no, mine's not the bolt kind as in the pic. Sorry for the misuse of nouns. Mine is a "-" head but not countersunk one... know what I mean? It sorta bulges at the top, like a dome, yeah.
    Like that can help me get 2 or 3 pcs and mail them to me?
    I pay you via bank tranfer or during PLUG.
    Ok?

  14. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firefox
    5 - 6 years ago, it was called "King Screws".. Now.. not sure...
    You right. The shop is at Sungei Road. I don't know whether it is still there!
    Try your luck... I am sure you can get it at Sungei Road..

    Yappy & happy

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Wah... mail to you? Haha! I think that's weird... like, the postage will cost more than the contents already... Mmm... u stay Tampines right? Would u be going town next weekend? Or maybe sometime during next week (Mon-Wed) I can go down Tampines to meet u? I've been wanting to go to the Cash Convertors there...

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    8,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karnage
    Wah... mail to you? Haha! I think that's weird... like, the postage will cost more than the contents already... Mmm... u stay Tampines right? Would u be going town next weekend? Or maybe sometime during next week (Mon-Wed) I can go down Tampines to meet u? I've been wanting to go to the Cash Convertors there...
    Next Mon to Wed I only able to reach Tampines around 7.30pm if it is
    not too late for you.

  17. #37
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Hmm... where do u work? Maybe I can also go near your workplace there? Why not you PM me your contact, then we can arrange from there...

  18. #38
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karnage
    Hi guys (and gals too, yeah), just want to find out:

    I'm connecting 8x 1.2V NiMH AA batteries in series to get 9.6V (it's abit over the top but it works on my camera, which only requires 7.2V). Each cell is 2500mAh. So this whole circuit can be regarded as a single 9.6V NiMH cell right? The question is, what is the mAh rating then? Is it still 2500mAh or is it 8 x 2500mAh = 20Ah (20,000mAh)?


    Miscellanous info: I'm constructing a DIY battery pack (aka hand grip) for my Panasonic FZ20. This will probably be mounted underneath, like all battery grips, by the tripod thread. Wondering how to make another tripod thread so I can still mounted the whole thing on a tripod...
    Put simply, if you know electronics (ohm's law etc) the current rating will remain the lowest.
    Eg the lowest ma rating of the batteries when connected in series.

    By the way, it is not a good thing to exceed the voltage as you are.
    You ARE going to stress the electronics involved.
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  19. #39
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    Put simply, if you know electronics (ohm's law etc) the current rating will remain the lowest.
    Eg the lowest ma rating of the batteries when connected in series..
    Oh... I don't know electronics... haha! That's why the question was posted here.

    You mean if I connect in series 4 batteries, 3 of which are 2500mAh & 1 is 1700mAh, the current rating for that setup is only 1700mAh? Wow! Ok... U learn something new everyday!

    So what happens to the 3 2500mAh cells when the 1700mAh one is used up? Does the voltage drop to 3.6V only?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    By the way, it is not a good thing to exceed the voltage as you are.
    You ARE going to stress the electronics involved.
    Ya... I thought so. Hence, I'm trying out the 12 batteries in series parallel method tomorrow. Will test on 6 batteries first... next time then test 12 together... Thanks for the advice though. Cheers!

  20. #40
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    716

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karnage
    So what happens to the 3 2500mAh cells when the 1700mAh one is used up? Does the voltage drop to 3.6V only?
    Nope.. It's closer to about 4.6v..

    If the 1700mAH cell is fully discharged and you continue to try and use the pack, it'd most likely be destroyed..

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •