Thread: Canon S2 or Panasonic FZ200

Default Canon S2 or Panasonic FZ200

Hi!
    I have posted a similar post in Canon forum regarding the following. Just want to see what your views are in comparison with the canon folks

I am currently using a small compact PnS Pentax S3. Great for traveling and carrying around
    Now with an addition to the family (baby), I thought of getting a better camera. I don't want to get a dslr as I would not be able to fully utilise it. I am a newbie in phototaking. Of course I would love it but it would be a waste on me. So I thought I would get a prosumer camera with a bit more features. This way, I wouldn't be spending too much(babies are expensive!), get a camera which I can pick up some photography skills and have a better camera for work. I need to take objects and still life photo for work purpose.
    After researching and reading up, I have narrow down to 2 choices - Canon S2 and Panasonic FZ20.

My requirements are
    1) a good starting out camera with some manual features so that a newbie like me can learn about taking photos.
    2) Good macro function
    3) Able to take fast action (I watch sports)
    4) Good for taking pictures on travels

The range of lens on both these camera are great - 36 to 432. More than enough, even for a SLR. These are 2 quite similar cameras

The way I see it :-

Adv and disadvantages of S2
    - Great movie recorder. Can double up as a videocam (I don't have one)
    - There are numerous complaint about lens cap easily falling off. But that's a minor point
    - Suspose to have some purple fringing
    - ISO 200 and above are pretty noisey

Adv and disadv of FZ20
    - Fast lens

So anyone can give me some pointers?
    I would love to get one with 6mp or more. But strangely they all come in 5mp.
    Any other recomemdations?

Thanks

i suggest you look at FZ5..
    fast lens is one thing, but FZ5 got unbeatable focusing speed.