Thread: Travelling to Switzerland in May 2014

Default Travelling to Switzerland in May 2014

Planned a 11 days 8 nights trip to Switzerland with my wife in May, already bought the air tickets and booked hotels, plan to buy 8 days Swiss pass when we reach Zurich airport, here is my itinerary:
    Singapore -> Zurich -> Lucerne (Stay at Renaissance for 2 nights)
    Places to visit: Lake Lucerne, Old Town, Mt Titlis, Mt Pilatus
    Lucerne -> Interlaken (Stay at Royal-St.Georges for 2 nights)
    Places to visit: Jungfraujoch
    Interlaken -> Zermatt (Stay at Garni Testa Grigia for 2 nights)
    Places to visit: The Matterhorn, Alpine dairy on the Stafel
    Zermatt -> St. Moritz thru GLACIER EXPRESS (Stay at Schweizerhof for 1 night)
    St. Moritz -> Zurich (Stay at Ramada for 1 night)
    Places to visit: Lindt & Sprüngli chocolate factory

I'm a newbie for photography world, bought a Nikon D610 with 24-120mmF4, and 50mmF1.8, do I still need a wide angle one?
    Any advices for the travel itinerary and the places to visit? Thanks!

Default Re: Travelling to Switzerland in May 2014

Yes! if you add on a 16-35mm f4 VR will be perfect.
    Do not forget polarizer and tripod.
    Have a pleasant journey.

Yes, prepared a Hoya CPL and free tripod from Nikon.
    16-35 & 14-24 which is better to bring?
    Haven't decided whether to buy wide angle and which one to buy.
    Most probably I will not bring 50mm f1.8 to reduce weight.
    Last edited by nightbug; 2nd March 2014 at 11:13 AM.

I personally chose the 16-35 f4 VR, because can add on filter and share the same filters with 70-200mm f2.8, 24-70mm f2.8 and 24-120mm f4 VR.
    Of course, it's also lighter and cheaper.

Thank you for the advice
    Quote Originally Posted by K S Kong View Post
    I personally chose the 16-35 f4 VR, because can add on filter and share the same filters with 70-200mm f2.8, 24-70mm f2.8 and 24-120mm f4 VR.
    Of course, it's also lighter and cheaper.