Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 17th June 2005   #1
janzguy81

Default Dilemma: Should I get another CF card?

I will be going for a trip to Hong Kong next week. As I will be bringing my 350D there, I fear that my Lexar 1.0 CF card will fail on me again.

Like many Lexar users, I am still waiting for the "2nd Edition" card with updated firmware from Convergent.

Should I get another CF card? I just called up MS Color and was quoted $130 for a Kingston 1.0 gig card. Is Kingston a reputable CF card for 350D?

AP quoted $150 for a Sandisk Ultra II 1.0 gig but I doubt I will get this. I sold this card (which i got for free) for $132 about a month ago so it's kinda ridiculous to buy at a higher price.

Any better advice?
Old 17th June 2005   #2
billpepsi

Originally Posted by janzguy81
I will be going for a trip to Hong Kong next week. As I will be bringing my 350D there, I fear that my Lexar 1.0 CF card will fail on me again.

Like many Lexar users, I am still waiting for the "2nd Edition" card with updated firmware from Convergent.

Should I get another CF card? I just called up MS Color and was quoted $130 for a Kingston 1.0 gig card. Is Kingston a reputable CF card for 350D?

AP quoted $150 for a Sandisk Ultra II 1.0 gig but I doubt I will get this. I sold this card (which i got for free) for $132 about a month ago so it's kinda ridiculous to buy at a higher price.

Any better advice?
Always carry a spare CF if possible, or alternatively, could wait till it fails and get a new CF from HK.
Old 17th June 2005   #3
kayheem

I am using the Kingston 2GB Elite Pro CF card on my 350D and have shot maybe 300-400 shots so far without any hitch.

If you are worried, get a cheaper, smaller capacity card e.g. 512MB as spare until you get the new Lexar card.

Kay Heem
Sponsored Link
Old 17th June 2005   #4
ST_sg

Any better advice?
you should sell the lexar and keep sandisk ultra2 mah. why not check out the B&S section and get back the Sandisk Ultra2 lor... most of them selling at S$135.

Some how I trust sandisk ultra2 more than the rest... I was once using RiData 40x on my old 300D, kena problem also. Once change to Ultra2, never regret. Now using it on D70, surperb performance. I just got another piece of ultra2 1GB at S$135.
Old 17th June 2005   #5
ed9119

i dunno...... I'd go for a slower ( 40x)1G card for now until these ultra high speed and high capacity cards stablize on the tech and efficiency end.... i mean what kind of compromises and compressions taking place inside those cards squeezing in that much speed and capacity (2,4 G) is a little scary for me

these Extreme III's are like CF cards on a whole new class of steroids

Last edited by ed9119; 17th June 2005 at 05:22 PM.
Old 17th June 2005   #6
janzguy81

Originally Posted by jeffhiew
Always carry a spare CF if possible, or alternatively, could wait till it fails and get a new CF from HK.
How is the price of electronics at HK? Anyone knows?

Originally Posted by kayheem
If you are worried, get a cheaper, smaller capacity card e.g. 512MB as spare until you get the new Lexar card.
Kay Heem
How much is a brand new 512mb Kingston/Sandisk card?
Old 17th June 2005   #7
benny

You can borrow my Ultra II 1.0 GB card for your trip.

Or you can borrow my X drive if you like.

Cheers,
Old 17th June 2005   #8
felixcat8888

Any better advice?
Both the Kingston and Sandisk brands are good quality cards.

You should have kept the Sandisk. It is always good to carry a spare card. You may never know when you will need it.
Old 17th June 2005   #9
jsbn

Any better advice?
If u're gonna think, u're gonna miss out on lotsa great shots.

Juz back frm OZ, filled up 1GB worth of images. Of cos, I'm trying to control myself. I swear I could have filled up more if it was a solo F&E trip instead of a package tour.
Old 17th June 2005   #10
jsbn

How is the price of electronics at HK? Anyone knows?

How much is a brand new 512mb Kingston/Sandisk card?
Got my Sandisk 512 Elite Pro at SLS for abt $60.
Old 18th June 2005   #11
janzguy81

Originally Posted by jsbn
Got my Sandisk 512 Elite Pro at SLS for abt $60.
That sounds reasonable. How is the performance of this card? Is it fast enough for multiple shoots with 350d?
Old 18th June 2005   #12
Snowcrash

That sounds reasonable. How is the performance of this card? Is it fast enough for multiple shoots with 350d?
Me using kingston normal and elite pro 512/1 gb every since I started using dslr a year ago. Haven't failed me since.

HK price for Kingston is comparable with SLS price. Got one card there in their "SLS" when I ran out of mem (2 x 512 + 1x 1gb when I go HK trip).

Happy shooting!
Old 18th June 2005   #13
jsbn

*jsbn checks price*

Yeah, $65.90 to be precise. And yes, its fast enuff for multiple shots with my 300D. Standard 4fps wif my 300D.

Since u're going for a trip, I dun think u'll switch to machine gun mode. Its fast enuff for single shots and machine gun mode. Unless u want a faster machine gun... that, u'll have to get a 1-series liao.
Old 18th June 2005   #14
janzguy81

Originally Posted by benny
You can borrow my Ultra II 1.0 GB card for your trip.

Or you can borrow my X drive if you like.

Cheers,
Hey Benny, I guess I missed yr call this morning, anyway tks a lot for your help!

I think I will just get a Kingston 512mb card for $60+ to save the trouble.
Old 18th June 2005   #15
benny

No problem. Have fun on your trip and show us photos!!

Call me if you change your mind and want to borrow the card.

Cheers,
Old 18th June 2005   #16
billpepsi

Mine is Kingston 1G, so far ok
Old 3rd July 2005   #17
janzguy81

Originally Posted by jeffhiew
Mine is Kingston 1G, so far ok
I bought the Kingston Elite Pro 1gig CF card, so far so gd!

Last edited by janzguy81; 3rd July 2005 at 03:01 PM.
Closed Thread