View Poll Results: Which is your preferred resolutions?

Voters
115. You may not vote on this poll
  • 640x480

    3 2.61%
  • 1024x768

    21 18.26%
  • 1600x1200

    51 44.35%
  • 2272x1704

    22 19.13%
  • RAW

    18 15.65%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: Which Resolutions do you use??

  1. #1

    Default Which Resolutions do you use??

    Hi all,

    Just curious to know which is the most common/popular resolution used on your DC

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default Re: Which Resolutions do you use??

    Originally posted by Paladin
    Hi all,

    Just curious to know which is the most common/popular resolution used on your DC
    Actually, "RAW" is not a resolution. There's also the 2048 x 1536 for 4:3 3 mp cameras, 1800x1200 for 3:2 2megapixel cameras and several more.

    Regards
    CK

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    1600x1200 @ SHQ setting in my Oly C-2100uz.

  4. #4

    Default

    Just basing on what I have from my G2 for easy way out...

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    Wow.... I was just about to post something related!

    We're heading to Genting and then KL tomorrow. Was supposed to buy ImageTank but not enough cash so I ended up buying a 256MB Ridata 20x CF (got it for $190, for those who are interested to know). At G2 max resolution (2272x1704) I expect to get about 400 shots but I'm trying to save up so I'm thinking of shooting at 1600x1200.

    My question is, would that be recommended? Would it affect image quality? We're most likely going to have it printed to at least 4R.

    Regards,

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Pinoy
    Wow.... I was just about to post something related!

    We're heading to Genting and then KL tomorrow. Was supposed to buy ImageTank but not enough cash so I ended up buying a 256MB Ridata 20x CF (got it for $190, for those who are interested to know). At G2 max resolution (2272x1704) I expect to get about 400 shots but I'm trying to save up so I'm thinking of shooting at 1600x1200.

    My question is, would that be recommended? Would it affect image quality? We're most likely going to have it printed to at least 4R.

    Regards,
    If all you want is 4R, then shooting at the higest resolution is overkill and waste of memory. Set it to 1600x1200, which will even give you pretty good 8Rs. Using 1600x1200 at the lowest compression, you would end up with files of about 800K each.
    At max resolution and lowest compression, I don't think you will get 400 shots onto a 256MB card. Each file will be at least 1.5MB or so.

    Regards
    CK

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    you might not need the lowest compression to print 4Rs. but the extra resolution might come in handy if you need larger prints.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang
    At max resolution and lowest compression, I don't think you will get 400 shots onto a 256MB card. Each file will be at least 1.5MB or so.
    Oh, forgot to tell that I already have an existing 256MB CF. So I actually meant 512MB with the 400 shots.

    Anyway, thanks for the info. I think I'll be shooting at 1600x1200 then.

    Regards,

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    Originally posted by mpenza
    you might not need the lowest compression to print 4Rs. but the extra resolution might come in handy if you need larger prints.
    I think at the most, I'd be printing at 8R.

    Regards,

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    if 400 photos is sufficient, use the highest resolution as you have intended to. some landscape photographs would need a resolution of more than 1600x1200 to show the detail of small objects.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ClubSNAP East
    Posts
    1,702

    Default

    Originally posted by mpenza
    if 400 photos is sufficient, use the highest resolution as you have intended to.
    That exactly is my predicament. I'm not sure whether 400 shots would be sufficient.

    Regards,

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    if you could do in camera resizing, there won't be a problem.... my old camera allows me to resize to any sizes.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Pinoy
    That exactly is my predicament. I'm not sure whether 400 shots would be sufficient.

    Regards,
    You can switch resolutions on the spot. For those shots which you think you want the absolute best quality, shoot at the highest resolution.

    A good compromise will be to use highest resolution, medium compression.

    Regards
    CK

  14. #14

    Default

    I go RAW all the way unless the pic is for fun or PURELY web...

    RAW allows me to do wonders in terms of exposure control and color control and sharpening.

  15. #15

    Default

    Where is 800x600???????????
    DR KOH KHO KING

  16. #16
    Phalanx
    Guests

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    You can switch resolutions on the spot. For those shots which you think you want the absolute best quality, shoot at the highest resolution.

    A good compromise will be to use highest resolution, medium compression.

    Regards
    CK
    Am using the A40, under Menu Settings and Compression, what's the diff btw using Superfine, Fine or Normal? Which is recommended?

    Am currently using 1600 x 1200 as resolution...

    Thanks.

  17. #17

    Default

    If this macro at 1600x1200 does not cut your breath , it looks that i got the wrong camera .

    Actually this is a croped image , with out any other fix .
    Its one Pentium 3 ,CPU core ..

    Olympus C2100 X3 - E100RS - C220
    IS/L lenses ALL :-D

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by syncmaster
    [B]If this macro at 1600x1200 does not cut your breath , it looks that i got the wrong camera .

    Actually this is a croped image , with out any other fix .
    Its one Pentium 3 ,CPU core ..
    don't really get what you mean in this context.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    258

    Default

    Originally posted by syncmaster
    If this macro at 1600x1200 does not cut your breath , it looks that i got the wrong camera .

    Actually this is a croped image , with out any other fix .
    Its one Pentium 3 ,CPU core ..

    is that a crack line on the chip???

  20. #20
    Jerome
    Guests

    Default

    Originally posted by zapp!
    I go RAW all the way unless the pic is for fun or PURELY web...

    RAW allows me to do wonders in terms of exposure control and color control and sharpening.
    I was just about to post my question when I saw zapp's comments. My ques is: Can't images shot in jpg compression mode be controlled in terms of exposure, color, sharpening etc as zapp mentioned?

    So far, I've shot on RAW also but I'm going on a holiday soon and I think RAW is simple inappropriate. As Ckiang mentions it's an overkill. But I've not yet observed the differences in RAW and jpeg (say highest resolution and minimal compression) when editing in say Photoshop.

    It's tempting to get an Image Tank where I can press the trigger in RAW mode to my heart's content but I think it's an even bigger overkill considering that I'll come back home with super huge files. Doubt I'll even geting anywhere near the 10MB storage space. So it'll be a waste of money to get Image Tank for my purpose I think...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •