Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: question about flash

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    11

    Default question about flash

    Hi I am using yongnuo 468 which is a TTL flash.

    I set sync speed to 1/200 and realise that my shutter speed is 1/200. I am using AV mode and I set the aperture to F8, and the auto ISO show ISO of 400. I then set aperture to F5.6 and realise that the ISO is still 400 which is kind of strange.

    I then tried setting aperture to F32 and ISO to 100 and tried shooting. It is strange that the metering in my camera still show 0. But when I shoot, the picture came out to be totally dark (as expected). Why didnt the camera warn me that my photo is underexposed? Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    3,443

    Default Re: question about flash

    My guess is that you are using Canon.. For some reason, once you put the flash on, in Av, Tv, Manual, your auto ISO will be kept at 400.

    No clue regarding the metering.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: question about flash

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyStrike View Post
    My guess is that you are using Canon.. For some reason, once you put the flash on, in Av, Tv, Manual, your auto ISO will be kept at 400.

    No clue regarding the metering.
    so the only way is to manually set iso right? i usually keep it at 400 anyway...(for flash conditions)

  4. #4
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: question about flash

    Quote Originally Posted by TheLoneRanger View Post
    so the only way is to manually set iso right? i usually keep it at 400 anyway...(for flash conditions)
    First of all: please confirm or correct the assumption about Canon. Which model?
    Check the Auto ISO settings in the camera manual, especially for flash. It should be possible to change this to anything else than 400. (Sometimes you need to read also the footnotes and remarks, certain details are only mentioned there.)
    EOS

  5. #5

    Default Re: question about flash

    is it possible for you to un set the sync speed? you didn't mention what shutter you're getting in av mode.

    however you should still be getting a non black image (however under exposed ) at aperture f11 and wider if you're not attempting sky bounce and there is something to reflect the flash into the lens.

    at very narrow aperture the flash incident on your sensor may be to little for correct exposure

    in any case logically the camera will aim for correct exposure through TTL metering so the meter would logically read zero and any change make you in aperture would be set off by adjustments in flash output energy
    宁愿遇见丢失幼崽的母熊,也不愿碰上做蠢事的愚人

  6. #6
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: question about flash

    If you are using Auto ISO, and you attach a TTL flash, the ISO will usually default to base ISO X 4.

  7. #7
    Senior Member shierwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    3,334

    Default Re: question about flash

    Quote Originally Posted by maisatomai1 View Post
    Hi I am using yongnuo 468 which is a TTL flash.

    I set sync speed to 1/200 and realise that my shutter speed is 1/200. I am using AV mode and I set the aperture to F8, and the auto ISO show ISO of 400. I then set aperture to F5.6 and realise that the ISO is still 400 which is kind of strange.

    I then tried setting aperture to F32 and ISO to 100 and tried shooting. It is strange that the metering in my camera still show 0. But when I shoot, the picture came out to be totally dark (as expected). Why didnt the camera warn me that my photo is underexposed? Thanks in advance
    You ask a similar question before (2 yrs ago): http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=965404
    Last edited by shierwin; 5th January 2014 at 06:31 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •