Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 68

Thread: Linksys, Netgear, SMC

  1. #41
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Why so "kind" ... if your net goes down.. at least you can tap into theirs mah
    I know, at least 2-3 is not secured ones

  2. #42

    Default

    So can I know which is the most easy to configure, look nice sleek and must be black in colour ?


  3. #43
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    link sys

  4. #44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simon80
    So can I know which is the most easy to configure, look nice sleek and must be black in colour ?

    get linksys compact router... small enuff to fit my pocket.....

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simon80
    So can I know which is the most easy to configure, look nice sleek and must be black in colour ?

    look at my sig to find the answer...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Why so "kind" ... if your net goes down.. at least you can tap into theirs mah
    hehehe... i saw about 6 SSID yesterday @ my parent's room, only saw about 3 in my room... strange...

    but best part is i can't seem to connect to my Dlink from their room, so i used their to connect.. so far so good... all linksys... haha.. 192.168.1.1 hahaha wonder if they use the default password anot...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  7. #47

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    hehehe... i saw about 6 SSID yesterday @ my parent's room, only saw about 3 in my room... strange...

    but best part is i can't seem to connect to my Dlink from their room, so i used their to connect.. so far so good... all linksys... haha.. 192.168.1.1 hahaha wonder if they use the default password anot...
    wah 4 port gigabit.... how much u paid for it?

  8. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default

    think 299 or something at fuwell...

    anyway since my desktops are gigabit ready, might as well get that, cat5e to every room already... now just use the wireless feature on laptop & ipaq...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  9. #49
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    hehehe... i saw about 6 SSID yesterday @ my parent's room, only saw about 3 in my room... strange...

    but best part is i can't seem to connect to my Dlink from their room, so i used their to connect.. so far so good... all linksys... haha.. 192.168.1.1 hahaha wonder if they use the default password anot...
    Please don't give me ideas

  10. #50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    I intend to upgrade my home to have wireless broadband. I am on Singnet broadband, using 1 desktop and 2 laptops. I know I need 1 router, 1 wireless PCI card for desptop and 1 wireless PCMCIA cards for each laptop.
    Are there any difference between these 3 brandnames:
    - Linksys
    - Netgear
    - SMC
    Here's my anecdotal take on the reliability of some brands:

    Netgear - my friend's two units have had one issue or other. The first one just died (within 2 weeks), it's replacement quits every half hour! Easy to set up though. I bought a friend one in Australia when I was on holiday there (bloody expensive there) - that one has worked fine for the last six months.

    D-Link - the 54G one I bought for a friend last year died within a week. Setup interface rather clunky, at least for that version of firmware on the D-Link

    Linksys - for me, so far, has been the least fussy brand. My WRT54G has run 24/7 for nearly a year. Signing up for the latest cable package, Starhub gave me another one which I am keeping until I get my own place ;-) The 54G wireless PC card I gave to my flatmate has worked flawlessly, as has the USB wireless G unit for my desktop. Setup is straightforward, and you do get quite a lot of options, which is good. I have two other friends with the WRT54G and they've got no complains whatsoever. BTW, the WRT54G is probably the most hackable wifi box around - as in there are quite a few alternative operating systems you can run on it.

    In terms of looking cool, Linksys' ubiquitous blue boxes look quite horrible though ;-) The Netgear units look very nice with their low profile design. I like the d-link designs too. Pity I haven't had good experiences with the latter two brands.
    Last edited by kahheng; 9th June 2005 at 01:31 PM.

  11. #51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kahheng
    Here's my anecdotal take on the reliability of some brands:

    Netgear - my friend's two units have had one issue or other. The first one just died (within 2 weeks), it's replacement quits every half hour! Easy to set up though. I bought a friend one in Australia when I was on holiday there (bloody expensive there) - that one has worked fine for the last six months.

    D-Link - the 54G one I bought for a friend last year died within a week. Setup interface rather clunky, at least for that version of firmware on the D-Link

    Linksys - for me, so far, has been the least fussy brand. My WRT54G runs 24/7 for nearly a year. Signing up for the latest cable package, Starhub gave me another one which I am keeping until I get my own place ;-) The 54G wireless PC card I gave to my flatmate has worked flawlessly, as does the USB wireless G unit. Setup is straightforward, and you do get quite a lot of options, which is good. I have two other friends with the WRT54G and they've got no complains whatsoever.

    In terms of looking cool, Linksys' ubiquitous blue boxes look quite horrible though ;-) The Netgear units look very nice with their low profile design. I like the d-link designs too. Pity I haven't had good experiences with the latter two brands though.
    u will be surprise i got equal numbers of complaints from customers with dlink,linksys.... buffalo market quite small in sg.... the up coming brand should be belkin.... so far not many complaints.... only 1 or 2 who fried e poor thing while flashing roms... wonder how they do it...

    or perhaps its luck.... my smc router 3yrs old still running.... switched to netgear for almost 6months also so far so good....

  12. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default

    kegler u do wat 1? seems that u like got all the brands selling... must be some big computer supermart... cos most i see only able to carry 1 or 2 brands...

    anyway same like camera lor, u can't expect an ultimate 1, esp with the price u paying... like this Dlink router, dun have UPNP, now waiting for a firmware with UPNP...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  13. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Please don't give me ideas
    Buy buy buy?

  14. #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    So the right thing to do, is "ON" the modem and router 24 hours a day, and "OFF" the desktop and laptop when sleep?
    (these few questions may show that I am an IT-newbie )
    Yep. Unless u've got something rendering on ur laptop/desktop, or doing some *ahem* downloads, juz turn it off when not in use.

    Ur modem and router can leave it on. No sweat. Wun die. U wun see ur bill jump from $100 to $2000 anyway. Current consumption for router and modem quite small.

  15. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Ok I got it.
    Another question: is there any big difference between 54Mbps router and 108Mbps router? The price of 108Mbps is almost double.....

  16. #56

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Ok I got it.
    Another question: is there any big difference between 54Mbps router and 108Mbps router? The price of 108Mbps is almost double.....
    For net access, nope.

  17. #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kahheng
    For net access, nope.
    Cool, luckily I bought the 54Mbps, save some bucks for other more important photography equipment.....

  18. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Ok I got it.
    Another question: is there any big difference between 54Mbps router and 108Mbps router? The price of 108Mbps is almost double.....
    Those router u see 54mbps and 108mbps do not refer to how fast u can access the internet. Ur internet access speed is dependant on what plan u subscribe to and NOT the router speed.

    The router speed only comes into serious play when u are transferring files between 2 computers that are connected to the same router.

    For home use, 802.11g routers (54mbps) are more den enuff.

  19. #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default

    yeap unless like me, i bt all the anime, den use laptop see... thinking of getting those set top box to plug to tv, den can wirelessly view my anime from my pc...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  20. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    Can wad. Yesterday I juz went to challenger they got sell this DivX box. Dun come with HDD. Call wad 'Avix' or something liddat. $230+.

    Its located around the network peripherials section.

    Oooo yeah.... Found da website liaoz: http://www.sarotech.com/english/cgi/...md=view&rno=1/. Quite cool I muz say.
    Last edited by jsbn; 9th June 2005 at 04:21 PM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •