Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 68

Thread: Linksys, Netgear, SMC

  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrashWire
    I'm also using WRT54G, and yes it's very powerful. But with power comes a headache from configuring.
    linksys own software very easy to config leh... but if you wan absolute control... then

    For mi juz plug and play can liao.. of course set some basic security for the WLAN. done within a few minutes.

    *edit* also agree on the part that keeps modem and router as seperate unit.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Ok, I got the idea, so I need the Linksys router WRT54G, (so many ppl using just like Nikon D100 )
    So if, in future I change the broadband from Singnet to Starhub or whoever, I can keep the router, just buy a new modem will do, right?

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Bingo! that's the way! .... if you're adventurous .. you want control ... then try out the 3rd party firmware eg. Sveasoft / HyperWRT .. with these you can have total control.

  4. #24

    Default

    Belkin or Linksys. I think they are rather reliable. A little costly though.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    I tried Netgear and it has some good features. SMC has died on me before.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    I have a netgear router in my test lab at the moment ... find its horrible and unconfigurable. very feature limited too ... Using SMC barricade too at the moment... no issues

  7. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Looks like Linksys is very popular here and HWZ.
    One more question, a wireless router need to plug in my Singnet-provided ADSL modem, right? Someone told me there are wireless router that includes ADSL modem?

    Yes...for linksys its called "ADSL Gateway" u gain some n lose some... in future if u ever wanna upgrade ur router or change to cable modem for watever reason...u will be cursing.... on e other hand u will save some electricity bills with just a single AC adapter.

    If u need any help in purchasing router , do drop me a pm. Im most willing to help

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Today went to SimLim, was going to buy the Linksys router, wah so ugly, a big blue box with 2 antenna, turn over and saw the Netgear router, pure white and pretty, so in the end bought the Netgear router ($72), and 2x USB connector ($60 each).
    Went home installed the whole thing in <15 minutes, not too difficult.
    But then, when I start surfing, I can see all my neighbour wireless SSID, that means my neighbour can also see my wireless SSID right?

    Any protection I need to be aware?

  9. #29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Today went to SimLim, was going to buy the Linksys router, wah so ugly, a big blue box with 2 antenna, turn over and saw the Netgear router, pure white and pretty, so in the end bought the Netgear router ($72), and 2x USB connector ($60 each).
    Went home installed the whole thing in <15 minutes, not too difficult.
    But then, when I start surfing, I can see all my neighbour wireless SSID, that means my neighbour can also see my wireless SSID right?

    Any protection I need to be aware?
    i dont know if Netgear can disable SSID broadcast or not.... but my Linksys WRT54G can...

    Besides disabling SSID broadcast, you can enable the encryption (i'm using 64bit WEP) and enable the wireless MAC filter for the wireless machines.

    if you are adventurous and IP network savvy, you can limit the number of machines in your network by controlling the subnet mask

    Edited: Those highlighted in bold are deemed the bare essentials for a secure wireless network.
    Last edited by mervlam; 8th June 2005 at 09:40 PM.

  10. #30
    Member/Tangshooter zaxh81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,339

    Default

    just enable WEP and set in the password,also make sure you change the default password.
    If you have a "weak" network,other people can easily tap in,just ask espn.


  11. #31

    Default can help mi ?

    currently I am using singnet 1500 with usb connection modem.
    will be getting another PC in the living room.

    The new pc will be link wireless to my room pc ..

    so do I need to buy a new modem as my current modem is USB connection one. not LAN connection.

    Heard from my friend got router with build in modem one right?
    Any Idea wat the price .. ?

    Will be getting the new pc this week..

    tks

  12. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simon80
    currently I am using singnet 1500 with usb connection modem.
    will be getting another PC in the living room.

    The new pc will be link wireless to my room pc ..

    so do I need to buy a new modem as my current modem is USB connection one. not LAN connection.

    Heard from my friend got router with build in modem one right?
    Any Idea wat the price .. ?

    Will be getting the new pc this week..

    tks
    Wireless ADSL Modem with router 4port
    1)Linksys adsl gateway $190+
    2)Dlink adsl router $170+

    Get seperate device if u dun mind .... its better.... u can change either one at any time

    Cheers!

  13. #33

    Default

    tks .. will check it out soon

  14. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Today went to SimLim, was going to buy the Linksys router, wah so ugly, a big blue box with 2 antenna, turn over and saw the Netgear router, pure white and pretty, so in the end bought the Netgear router ($72), and 2x USB connector ($60 each).
    Went home installed the whole thing in <15 minutes, not too difficult.
    But then, when I start surfing, I can see all my neighbour wireless SSID, that means my neighbour can also see my wireless SSID right?

    Any protection I need to be aware?
    1) WEP or WPA
    2) LAN IP setup -> Start IP n End IP (restrict to how many PC in ur house) ie. Start IP 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.5 if u got 5 PC at home
    3) Wireless Setup -> uncheck "enable ssid broadcast"
    4) Wireless Setup -> Wireless card access list (same idea as MAC filtering) -> Add in all ur PC mac address and Check Turn Access control On

    Should be enuff to put off some hackers :P

  15. #35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kegler
    1) WEP or WPA
    2) LAN IP setup -> Start IP n End IP (restrict to how many PC in ur house) ie. Start IP 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.5 if u got 5 PC at home
    3) Wireless Setup -> uncheck "enable ssid broadcast"
    4) Wireless Setup -> Wireless card access list (same idea as MAC filtering) -> Add in all ur PC mac address and Check Turn Access control On

    Should be enuff to put off some hackers :P
    Point 2 also strictly depends on the subnet mask you set and the number of wired connections you make, cos one port = one ip address for wired networks.

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Eh I may sound like a idiot here.....
    Should I power down the modem/router/desktop when I finish surfing and go to sleep?
    Last night I power down everything then went to sleep, this morning woke up I could not access internet, look like the router is not communicating.....

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    Usually I don't power down my modem/router. My Mac... it depends whether I'm doing stuff on it. Depends on individual.

    Oh BTW, the sequence for re-powering goes like this:
    Turn on modem -> Turn on router.

    The modem and router takes some time to initialise.

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    So the right thing to do, is "ON" the modem and router 24 hours a day, and "OFF" the desktop and laptop when sleep?
    (these few questions may show that I am an IT-newbie )

  19. #39
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I leave my Linksys Router on 24/7 for nearly a year already, ocassionally power down due to blackouts.

    My machines are shut down when not in use. The router leave it on, it will keep the network alive automatically.

    I just found that I got a lot of SSIDs around my area. Hehe. Maybe I should connect to them and do a net send to tell them they're not secured.

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Why so "kind" ... if your net goes down.. at least you can tap into theirs mah

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •