Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 68

Thread: Linksys, Netgear, SMC

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Linksys, Netgear, SMC

    I intend to upgrade my home to have wireless broadband. I am on Singnet broadband, using 1 desktop and 2 laptops. I know I need 1 router, 1 wireless PCI card for desptop and 1 wireless PCMCIA cards for each laptop.
    Are there any difference between these 3 brandnames:
    - Linksys
    - Netgear
    - SMC

  2. #2
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I'm using Linksys, SMC, have heard 1-2 cases the router keeps failing after a year.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    get 3Com, you're guaranteed satisfied.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drudkh
    get 3Com, you're guaranteed satisfied.
    I also like 3Com, but cant find them in SLS. Everybody is selling Linksys, Netgear and SMC.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    I also like 3Com, but cant find them in SLS. Everybody is selling Linksys, Netgear and SMC.
    VideoPro carries them. Usually limited stock, can call them up to check first.

    edit: http://www.videopro.com.sg/category....ing&cur_page=1
    Last edited by Drudkh; 6th June 2005 at 11:08 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default

    get Cisco...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    get Cisco...
    you pay for me?! Thank you, my Idol!
    Too bad i'm not a female, or you'll get a kiss from me FREE!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Linksys belongs to Cisco, right?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default

    There are also other brands to consider:

    - Belkin
    New player to the network market I believe. But their 3rd-party peripherials are first class. I believe its a lifetime-warranty for their routers the last time I'd asked a couple of shops in SLS. Ask again to confirm. Their main office is in Suntec.

    - Cisco
    If u strike Toto, u can buy it. But they make excellent network stuff. BTW, Cisco had bought over Linksys so technically, Linksys routers ARE Cisco routers. But Linksys routers are usually targeted for consumer market and Cisco routers are targeted for networking professionals and companies. U know what it means dude.

    - Buffalo
    So far frm wad I know, only 2 shops in SLS carry this brand. Not many ppl know of Buffalo in Singapore. MediaPro on Level 5 and another shop on Level 3 right beside the VCD shop. Juz got this router to replace my ol' Netgear. No protruding antenna. Wireless range quite ok. Features a lot of security stuff packet shaping, IDS, MAC Filtering and u can even adjust the power of ur wireless antenna via software! 2yr warranty.

  10. #10

    Default

    mi using linksys... pretty good so far. I find that linksys got more comprehensive network product range too.

    IMHO shouldn't go for PCMCIA cards... it drains your processor cycles. If got USB type go for it.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    In my own world
    Posts
    1,314

    Default

    should be no much difference lah~

    Anyway the few brand u named r all ard the same price range...100 over bucks only.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default

    Looks like Linksys is very popular here and HWZ.
    One more question, a wireless router need to plug in my Singnet-provided ADSL modem, right? Someone told me there are wireless router that includes ADSL modem?

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Its always better to have a ADSL modem and router seperate.

    I'm using a WRT54G with Talisman 3rd party firmware. End result : jaw dropping. ... a linux box running in that router.. and it makes it more powerful than the default firmware Linksys provides.

  14. #14

    Default

    I'm also using WRT54G, and yes it's very powerful. But with power comes a headache from configuring.

  15. #15
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Looks like Linksys is very popular here and HWZ.
    One more question, a wireless router need to plug in my Singnet-provided ADSL modem, right? Someone told me there are wireless router that includes ADSL modem?
    Yes, there is, you can put the dial up settings into the ADSL modem/router and it will dial up automatically for you when you switch it on, after that your other machines can connect to the modem.

  16. #16
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrashWire
    I'm also using WRT54G, and yes it's very powerful. But with power comes a headache from configuring.
    I'm also using the same router but I find it very easy to configure

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bk Panjang
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Am using SMC, no issue configuring and easy setup.

  18. #18

    Default

    linksys

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    I'm using Linksys, SMC, have heard 1-2 cases the router keeps failing after a year.
    + 2 cases from me.

  20. #20

    Default

    get 3com from chamoxa...they are cheap and have good service well worth the money spent

    abt 6 mths ago I managed to get a 3com wireless B router with belkin wireless G card for $120 during a promotion...I have recommended complex to others before and I do not think its too bad~

    cheers~

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •