Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Olympus

Olympus Discover Your Wonder

Old 6th June 2005   #1
tomcat

Default Orchids with the 50mm Macro and 40-150mm

Some shots of orchids taken at the Singapore Orchid Garden using the E-300 and the ZD 50mm Macro and ZD 40-150mm lenses are posted here:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...74#post1327874

The first 4 taken with the 50mm Macro and the last with the 40-150mm zoom as it was located too high up a tree.

Old 6th June 2005   #2
nightpiper

good pics. need to pay to get in? last time i remember SBG has a promo period where u pay only $1.

i think the pics need some extra flash to brighten them up. i think u shud try some bounce with a white card.

here's an old orchid & lily for illustrations, not that its a great shot but just to show the effect of using bounce light. i find the results is more pleasing.

keep them coming Tomcat!!
Old 6th June 2005   #3
tomcat

Originally Posted by nightpiper
good pics. need to pay to get in? last time i remember SBG has a promo period where u pay only $1.

i think the pics need some extra flash to brighten them up. i think u shud try some bounce with a white card.
Entrance fee is $5 for adults. Quite ex unless you plan to stay very long inside and they have a lot of rare orchids in bloom which they don't when I was there yesterday. Also, no lotus or water lily in bloom at the SBG.

I agree that a bounce card would be good in some of these macro shots but it's quite difficult to manage both bounce card(s) and camera with 2 hands. Must use tripod(s) or assistant. As I was using direct flash, I tried not to use the flash at full exposure as that would usually give rise to lots of tiny sparkling reflections off the petals. Got quite a lot of adverse comments in the past from ang-moh critics who actually prefer that no flash be used for flowers because they deem flash to be too harsh for such delicate subject.
I'll try to use a bounce card whereever possible the next time round to soften the shadows more. Thanks for your comments.
Sponsored Link
Old 6th June 2005   #4
seng44

Just curious, what time did you take the photos?
Old 6th June 2005   #5
tomcat

Originally Posted by seng44
Just curious, what time did you take the photos?
12 - 2pm. Terrible time to take photos but it's the only free time I have and since I'm using flash, it probably doesn't matter much anyway.
Old 8th June 2005   #6
nightpiper

Originally Posted by tomcat
I agree that a bounce card would be good in some of these macro shots but it's quite difficult to manage both bounce card(s) and camera with 2 hands. Must use tripod(s) or assistant. As I was using direct flash, I tried not to use the flash at full exposure as that would usually give rise to lots of tiny sparkling reflections off the petals. Got quite a lot of adverse comments in the past from ang-moh critics who actually prefer that no flash be used for flowers because they deem flash to be too harsh for such delicate subject.
I'll try to use a bounce card whereever possible the next time round to soften the shadows more. Thanks for your comments.

need assistant? if u have a spouse or fren i guess its quite alright to do that. i merely mounted the bounce card onto the flash & fire off.

the ang moh is right to a certain extend. what they didn't tell u is that if u dun use a bounce card with flash combo, u need to use reflectors & diffusers to adjust the light accordingly. that one need more stands & assistants than bounce cards, but results is very good.

bottom line: good pics need a lot of effort & some $.
Old 8th June 2005   #7
tomcat

Originally Posted by nightpiper
need assistant? if u have a spouse or fren i guess its quite alright to do that. i merely mounted the bounce card onto the flash & fire off.

the ang moh is right to a certain extend. what they didn't tell u is that if u dun use a bounce card with flash combo, u need to use reflectors & diffusers to adjust the light accordingly. that one need more stands & assistants than bounce cards, but results is very good.

bottom line: good pics need a lot of effort & some $.
I don't get good results with bounce card mounted on flash or with diffusers like Omnibounce or Lightsphere II for macro shots as the subject is too close to the flash. Still tends to get blown out highlights. Will have to experiment with FEC to reduce the flash output to acceptable levels even if these are used. Probably have to use a white card placed near the flower as reflector to reduce the harsh shadows. Lightsphere works great for portraits though.
Old 8th June 2005   #8
nightpiper

sorry i didn't put it clearly. the diffuser is used to block out the harsh sunlight on top of the flower & not put on the flash. the reflectors, well, used to reflect light to balance off the diffuser blockage.

if u have a little garden at home, u can try it out. the effects is nicer than bounce flash with card for sure but it takes more setup, results in buying more accessories. so the conclusion is: .......

BUY LAH!!

kekekekeker.......
Old 8th June 2005   #9
tomcat

Ah... OK I see. But this is going to be very difficult to set up for outdoor flower macro shoots like in SBG. People would think that I'm gila if I did that at SBG.

I'm still learning to shoot flower macros and is using the method I used for shooting my cats and fishes at the moment, ie Manual mode with high aperture no. and fast shutter speed and FP flash so that I can 'shoot-and-run' quickly with minimal use of tripod. That's why the backgrounds were usually so dark unlike if I had used P mode. I will try incorporating bounce card & reflector card to see if I can improve on the exposure further. If still not successful, I will have to try other methods.
Old 8th June 2005   #10
nightpiper

shoot & run doesn't quite fit in the pic of macros & flowers. it takes time to setup, compose & light a scene to achieve top grade results. dun say gila in SBG, i have actually seen this guy (local) setup reflector for his flower shot. very simple setup with just one reflector, no diffuser & a flash. he got 2 stands, one mini for reflector & one big mama for his cam.

looking forward to your next pic post.
Closed Thread