Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    68

    Default Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    as per title? Should choose a premium one or just a cheap one? Thanks! Or to specify, time lapse photography to be exact.
    Last edited by Ev0lutionz; 4th December 2013 at 09:56 PM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    if you are using Canon, you can install Magic Lantern add-on software.
    It is free. You can set arbitrary time interval for between frames and also set a timer for bulb (for precise bulbing)

    No need buy accessories.

    Sorry if you are not Canon user. tough luck!
    宁愿遇见丢失幼崽的母熊,也不愿碰上做蠢事的愚人

  3. #3

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    I am using cheap phottix wired release costing around $10 for my cameras all these years and served me well without issues.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    Quote Originally Posted by Limiter View Post
    I am using cheap phottix wired release costing around $10 for my cameras all these years and served me well without issues.
    Got lobang on where to get? Can't find it in the classifieds section here too.

  5. #5
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    For time lapse shooting what you need is a intervalometer,
    you don't want to use normal remote release to shoot time lapse, not saying you can't do that, just that you need to press the release a few hundreds time and keep track of the interval time is no fun at all.
    go ahead and check out the mass sellers and Vshops, any third party intervalometers will work just fine if you don't use the original camera brand intervalometer. you just need to buy the correct connector that fits your camera model.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  6. #6
    Senior Member shierwin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    3,334

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    For time lapse shooting what you need is a intervalometer,
    you don't want to use normal remote release to shoot time lapse, not saying you can't do that, just that you need to press the release a few hundreds time and keep track of the interval time is no fun at all.
    go ahead and check out the mass sellers and Vshops, any third party intervalometers will work just fine if you don't use the original camera brand intervalometer. you just need to buy the correct connector that fits your camera model.
    I got my intervalometer at Red Dot: 1x control and 3x cables for my 3 systems

  7. #7

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    I got the wired release from TK Foto.

    To add on, i don't do timelapse, i only use it for bulb mode.

  8. #8
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    520

    Default Re: Does a branded remote shutter matter for bulb photography/Time Lapse huh?

    used to use cheapo version for timelapse ... worked okay for about a year then spoilt (seems like cable connection got problem)

    now using this - http://www.phottix.com/en/phottix-aion.html

    "still" working =D

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •