Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 49

Thread: Raid X

  1. #1
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Raid X

    Where 0 <= X <= 5.

    I don't think polls are going to be useful because probably after selecting, nobody replies.

    Just a quick question, how many of you here are running RAID systems? Now considering to do a RAID 1 on my system but thinking about the costs is making me hesitative.

    Thought of doing RAID 5 but think it might be overkill.

  2. #2

    Default Raid

    Mai tu laio... go for SCSI RAID 5.....
    if budget not there.. then go for RAID 0+1
    If super low budget.. then RAID 1 lo..
    but best one still RAID 5.... better... but for the IDE controller for RAID 5 is expensive......

  3. #3

    Default

    Disks=cheap
    Data=priceless

    I'm going to do a RAID 1 setup once I get off my butt and clean up 2 x 120GB drives that I have. My motherboard (getting a bit long in the tooth) has RAID 0 & 1 onboard.

    Do you have a RAID 5 controller already ?

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Haha I knew somebody was going to recommend me RAID 5 SCSI. Sorry but don't have that kind of juice to run SCSI RAID 5

    Nope, I currently don't have RAID 5 controller, but shouldn't be too difficult getting one. My current board supports SATA/PATA RAID 0, 1, 0+1 though. Was thinking of going for RAID 1 for safety. But since minimum 3HDDs for RAID 5... so....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    go for RAID 1+0

  6. #6
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Interesting but currently I only intend to run 2 x 200GB HDD

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    2 HDDs?
    performance - RAID 0
    reliability - RAID 1

    RAID 0+1/1+0 requires 4 HDDs.

  8. #8
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I'm going for reliability, if that's the case pretty obvious ...

  9. #9

    Default

    Don't need moolah, XP pro supports software raid 5 .. IIRC

    anyway I'd recomand raid 5 too save money don't use scsi

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayson
    Don't need moolah, XP pro supports software raid 5 .. IIRC

    anyway I'd recomand raid 5 too save money don't use scsi

    Please do not use software RAID.. it sucks... first, it consume your CPU resources.. and second.... NOT THAT RELIABLE..... yes.. performance is RAID 0, security is RAID 1 so you want security plus performance.. RAID 1+0 is not worth.. because minimum is 4 HDD!!! if you want performance plus security.. get RAID 5... minimum 3HDD but worth it... if you do not prefer hardware RAID and go for software RAID.. can.... but the security still not there.. i hit the problem b4 and that is my 2 cents worth of opinion.....

    There is avialable for RAID 5 hardware controller available for both PATA and SATA... suggest to go and buy it.. worth for it....

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Interesting but currently I only intend to run 2 x 200GB HDD
    then from that i c the solution is clear.. only RAID 1 lo.....

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default

    never software RAID, you'll cry one day and jump into the sea.

  13. #13

    Default

    actually most ide hardware raid still uses your cpu for processing.

    and I think for raid 5 you can use a smaller 3rd hdd.

  14. #14

    Default

    What's RAID?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    I have been using Raid 5 at home for 3 years now and many times it has saved my ass. I have 6 x 200 GB hard disk on my pc with 2 GB of RAM. I know this may be an overkill to some but I need the space as I do video editing. You will need extra fans to cool the unit down. I used to keep on adding hard disk (80, 120 GB etc) then decided once and for all I need something that will last me for a long time. Now I have no worries.

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayson
    actually most ide hardware raid still uses your cpu for processing.

    and I think for raid 5 you can use a smaller 3rd hdd.
    yes for IDE yes... that's y that is very important to use the HW RAID instead of SW RAID, SW RAID will tax ur CPU resources even worst.

    As for the RAID 5 HDD, you need to use all 3 HDD all in SAME size. cannot be two 200 G and one 100G. If better, use all 3 in term of same brand and same model, to ensure the performance.

  17. #17
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Heheh.. I definitely won't go for software RAID. It still sux to me. Heehee.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    nowhere... juz a random stray.
    Posts
    2,227

    Default

    RAID 5!! BUY BUY BUY!!!!

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jbma
    I have been using Raid 5 at home for 3 years now and many times it has saved my ass. I have 6 x 200 GB hard disk on my pc with 2 GB of RAM. I know this may be an overkill to some but I need the space as I do video editing. You will need extra fans to cool the unit down. I used to keep on adding hard disk (80, 120 GB etc) then decided once and for all I need something that will last me for a long time. Now I have no worries.
    good neh.... wish to use 2G RAM now.... sigh.. but no $$$
    ya is goot o use RAID 1 or RAID 5.. nowsday HDD is more and more fragile laio... the MTBF for HDD getting shorter and short.. sigh.... sad.... but too poor to get SCSI HDD laio...

  20. #20

    Default

    so espn,
    mai tu laio.. go for RAID 5... better if you go for SCSI one...... heheheh

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •