Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Others

Others All other makes/brands/DIY & misc photographic gadgets discussed here.

Old 18th May 2005   #1
clicknick

Default Suntax on Canon DSLR?

Hi, anyone used Suntax flash with canon DSLR before? I know that cannot compare to Canon EX flashes, should save $ for EX, EX much better, have E-TTL, blah blah blah, heard that all before so no point comparing apple to orange, but seriously, anyone had experience with any model of Suntax and is satisfied with the results? Bad experiences also can share. Thanks.
Old 18th May 2005   #2
Xpose

Originally Posted by clicknick
Hi, anyone used Suntax flash with canon DSLR before? I know that cannot compare to Canon EX flashes, should save $ for EX, EX much better, have E-TTL, blah blah blah, heard that all before so no point comparing apple to orange, but seriously, anyone had experience with any model of Suntax and is satisfied with the results? Bad experiences also can share. Thanks.

remember hearing someone once said just make sure that the trigger voltage is less than 6 volt if not, might just fry your camera for dinner one day
Old 21st May 2005   #3
clicknick

Thanks Xpose, I am aware of the 6V limit. What about Sunpak or Vivitar flashes, anyone tried before with happy results? Surely somebody must have tried non-Canon flashes on their DSLR before?
Sponsored Link
Old 21st May 2005   #4
Vulpix0r

I've heard the Metz Mecablitz 54 can perform better than even the E-TTL on Canon flashes. Wondering how much it is...
Old 21st May 2005   #5
eshotstudio

Originally Posted by clicknick
well i am using a Suntax flash on a Nikon D70 & Nikon Coolpix 8700 for more than 2 years. so far, there has been no power shock since i started using it, and the suntax has a very good trigger voltage control. the specs said that actual cycle voltage is 5.5Volts. 6.0Volts is when it is on stanby mode.

So no worried of camera power shocks
Old 22nd May 2005   #6
clicknick

Originally Posted by eshotstudio
well i am using a Suntax flash on a Nikon D70 & Nikon Coolpix 8700 for more than 2 years. so far, there has been no power shock since i started using it, and the suntax has a very good trigger voltage control. the specs said that actual cycle voltage is 5.5Volts. 6.0Volts is when it is on stanby mode.

So no worried of camera power shocks
Hi, care to share which model Suntax you are using? Are you happy with the flash exposures?
Old 24th May 2005   #7
tsin

if you use suntax flash on canon dslr, exposure will not be correct because it is not TTL enabled.
Old 24th May 2005   #8
clicknick

Hmm, agree, more manual settings needed plus dependent on the thyristor, but will still be able to get good exposure if used correctly right? Or is it really so horrible? Don't know, that's y I started this thread to hear about experiences.

Canon ETTL means more accurate auto exposure I guess, but cannot compare cause price difference is so big.
Old 2nd November 2005   #9
donkuok

Default Re: Suntax on Canon DSLR?

Can I say that the Suntax 328DTZ is 100% safe to be used with canon 350D? I have one for my FZ20.
Old 2nd November 2005   #10
ortega

Originally Posted by tsin
if you use suntax flash on canon dslr, exposure will not be correct because it is not TTL enabled.
there was a time when there was no TTL anything and everything was manual.
the exposures was still good. Learn the tool and make full use of it.

BTW I am also looking to buy a Suntax flash

is there a list of shops that carry this brand?
Old 2nd November 2005   #11
ob1canob

One have to becareful. I have a very old Suntax flash and tried it on my 350D and fried it immediately. Good thing the frying was not on my 350D but it taught me a lesson to check if it was compatible first or not. In any case, I had wanted to repair my flash but this was the reply I received (perhaps there's some info you will find useful for those who are using 350D):

"We do have new 132 AF. but this has to be specially ordered as we would
like to obsolete this model due to low business volume.

For the canon eos 350D, we suggest you try 9000ETS. None of our TTL flash
can match the canon 350d as our ttl is a-ttl. canon eos 350d uses e-ttl."

After this, I got myself a Sigma EF-500 DG ST (350D should also work with EF-500 DG Super) for my 350D.

For Ortega, the Suntax International guy quoted the following shops (not sure if they are selling Suntax flashes because I didn't go to check them out):
Alan Photo (SLS), Ishida (Peninsula Plaza) & John3:16 (Funan Ctr).
Old 3rd November 2005   #12
ortega

thanks, i'll also check the compatibility thingy
Old 12th November 2005   #13
judeseah

take this with a pinch of salt,
90% of my pics using ettl were not correct(both 420ex n 550ex),
metz on the other hand,
1% not correct w/o ttl.
so original thread starter was right in saying,
lets not compare sunpak with piece of sh*t(ooops, i mean can*n flashes).

jude

Originally Posted by tsin
Old 20th January 2006   #14
slaam

Yah I agree.. its teh user
haha can you believe it? saw a post on another forum
this guy complain his 580EX dun give even exposure and got hot spot.
then I see the pic...

cos he use head on flash and the person face quite close to camera..
so the background is dark for the far distance and the near stuff is abit over exposed
hahahaha

actually I dun really like TTL stuff.. cos its hard enough trying to figure out flash...
then you have to figure out how the flash/camera computer figure out flash and make it work your way...
suntax is ok lah
but curious abt the 350D frying thing..

apparently read someway the sync voltage tolerance for 350D is very high...
maybe that's why ur cam nothing wrong..
I am still debating to try my old fo canon attl suntax flash on 350D..
abit scared cos the flash only $70 and i am risking it on a 1K plus body.. hmmmm
Old 29th January 2006   #15
tzesian

On the contrary, My Metz 54MZ4 works perfect in ETTL mode, I have an SCA3008 cable (requires 4 X AAA batteries) to have it seperate from my G6. Works real well !

I'd bought 2 canon off camera cord 2, the first one work. It's too short for me, to mount the flash to an umbrella, so I had decided to extend the length by 2 meter, sadly it failed, so I 'd shorten the extended part to 1 meter, the flash behaves differently, it's capable to detect ETTL, but just can't get a correct exposure, was too busy before new year, however, any thing shorter than 1 meter, would not be meaningful to me, I might just wired it back to the original length and continue using it.

Yes! the 52MZ4 does not cause any problem to both my G2 and G6 cam.
Old 29th January 2006   #16
user111

get a 420EX
Old 30th January 2006   #17
clicknick

Originally Posted by user111
get a 420EX
Got 2 canon flashes liao, including 420EX. Guess u were not reading my opening post carefully about the fruits .
Old 30th January 2006   #18
user111

your opening oset where got mention fruits?? anyway my point is stick to canon flash. 3rd party flash will let u run around in circles, waste time and money worrying this and that. for canon flash its supposed to work. any problem just go to service center and bang table. hehe
Old 30th January 2006   #19
denniskee

posted by a fellow cser, you can check it out in this web site.

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html