Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ISO vs Aperture F stops

Default ISO vs Aperture F stops

Hi All,

I'm still learning the basics and trying to fully understand the balance between ISO, Aperture and shutter speed.

My question is here, in Low light situation, people tend to refer to on stop in aperture as say F5.6 to F4, or F4 to F2.8 etc. Could someone tell me does this stop has the same effect dumping up the ISO to from say 400 to 800, or 800 to 1600 etc?

I'm trying to understand if you don't have pro grade glass and went for cheaper alternatives which are considered soft wide open. In low light situations would you assume you get the same grade quality with the below. All else being equal, ie camera & shutter speed etc

F2.8 at 400 ISO (lets say sigma)
    f4 at 800 ISO (lets say Nikon's pro grade)

Blog Entries

Default Re: ISO vs Aperture F stops

Some sigma lenses are sharper than Nikon pro grade. Example = Sigma 35/1.4 hsm.

so your question is really hard to answer.

ISO and Aperture value and shutter has to be balanced to return a certain exposure. When maintaining the same exposure (brightness), if you want close down your aperture by 1 stop, you need to up your ISO by one stop if you want to maintain the same shutter speed. What choice to make really depends on:

1. what ISO you are already currently on
    2. what shutter speed are you trying to maintain
    3. If the aperture you want will achieve what you want (depth of field)
    4. If your subject is moving
    5. How stable are you? are you on a tripod? or other kinds of support? are you hands/stance stable?
    6. What is your personal tolerance on noise on your particular camera.

No one can answer these questions for you. You have to consider all these yourself at the moment while you are in that situation, and you alone have to make a call on that.

Also note that aperture affects depth of field, and ISO affects noise...
    Alpha

it depends on what you think is important