Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 13th May 2005   #1
erictan8888

Default first time tried the nikor 105mm micro...

hi,

like to share my first try with the nikor 105mm micro...

very impressed with the close up and quality of the shot when taken super close up.... hmm.... time to consider buying a dedicated close up lens liao....

hai... more $$$ will fly.......

close up of the face of a watch

close up of the kit lens

close up of a shot on an article of the newspapers
Old 13th May 2005   #2
wingless84

hand-shake on the 1st shot?
anyway if you're doing macro, you might want to stop down the aperture a little more because depth of field is really very very short
Old 13th May 2005   #3
mpenza

nope, "Casio" is sharp and clear.
Sponsored Link
Old 13th May 2005   #4
rhair78

Question

Hi erictan8888,

wat was your working distance like for the watch?

another thing, from the exif, saw it was taken at f5.6. That results in a shallow DOF, u might wish to try from F11 onwards. (Would need better illumination though )
Old 13th May 2005   #5
azul123

Liked the first & second shot, the colours are really nice.

Initially, I too was facinated by macro, but when tried to shoot insects and because of the close distance required, it is quite tough actually to get a good macro shot in-focus handheld. I gave up eventually because didn't have patience and skills for it, though I still love looking at macros.

Taking still objects is fine. Have to give 2 x when I see those good macro shots by fellow CSer, it is very difficult to get good focus on the subject as small movements the picture is out... set to AFC also difficult, well at least for me.

Me lack skill and patience.

../azul123
Old 13th May 2005   #6
nightwolf75

this mth's issue of photoi has a write-up on macro photography. check it out?

yeah, azul123. u really need infinite amt of patience to do macro... i also gave up and sold off my tamron 90mm some time ago...
Old 13th May 2005   #7
cy_j

I like that you use a relatively open aperture. It selectively focuses on "Casio" and not on the whole watch.

Great shots, man!
Old 13th May 2005   #8
glensky
Account Suspended

Default use 200mm micro

Originally Posted by azul123
Liked the first & second shot, the colours are really nice.

Initially, I too was facinated by macro, but when tried to shoot insects and because of the close distance required, it is quite tough actually to get a good macro shot in-focus handheld. I gave up eventually because didn't have patience and skills for it, though I still love looking at macros.

Taking still objects is fine. Have to give 2 x when I see those good macro shots by fellow CSer, it is very difficult to get good focus on the subject as small movements the picture is out... set to AFC also difficult, well at least for me.

Me lack skill and patience.

../azul123

u can try using 200mm..at least u got e distance to work on your subject
Old 13th May 2005   #9
erictan8888

thanks for comments....

actually the lens is very good.... but cost a bomb leh.....
other thing is that working distance is still fine.... would love to have more working distance though.... but the 105mm nikor micro already cost so much liao, dare not think about longer micro lens.... $$$$$$ wow.... blur liao.....

anyway, working distance for watch was like 6 to 8 cm away... can't quite remember liao....

auto focusing isn't always gonna give the charpest focus... might need manual focusing.... and a lot of patience....
and a lot of "holding your breath" .... hee hee
Old 13th May 2005   #10
espn

Originally Posted by wingless84
hand-shake on the 1st shot?
anyway if you're doing macro, you might want to stop down the aperture a little more because depth of field is really very very short
Nope, the face of the watch wasn't in parallel to the CCD, thus the top and bottom is DOF'd.
Old 13th May 2005   #11
erictan8888

yup..... expert espn can really tell just by looking at a pic....
the watch was lying down and facing the ceiling when i took the shot...
and the camera was at an angle ....
i chose to focus on the word casio... cause that's the main thing about the watch: the brand

cheers
Old 13th May 2005   #12
kegler

hows this lense for portrait?
Old 13th May 2005   #13
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by kegler
hows this lense for portrait?
sharp enuf to slice..

hint: one of the top winners for the recent nikon portrait shootout shot with a 105mm thru out the day.
Old 13th May 2005   #14
nightpiper

Originally Posted by nightwolf75
this mth's issue of photoi has a write-up on macro photography. check it out?

yeah, azul123. u really need infinite amt of patience to do macro... i also gave up and sold off my tamron 90mm some time ago...

wah!! the jedi master (yoda avatar) got no patience..... that will lead u to " ....the dark side of the force".

well, macro is another bottomless pit. u need the roti diet really soon.
Old 13th May 2005   #15
kegler

Originally Posted by nightpiper
wah!! the jedi master (yoda avatar) got no patience..... that will lead u to " ....the dark side of the force".

well, macro is another bottomless pit. u need the roti diet really soon.
this lense only 1k range right? or u talking abt another lense? if this one roti diet then those getting trinities eating air liao :
Old 13th May 2005   #16
markccm

this lense only 1k range right? or u talking abt another lense? if this one roti diet then those getting trinities eating air liao :
yah lor yah lor.

i from roti to grass then now air only.....
Old 13th May 2005   #17
nightpiper

got accessories one mah. u can get macro flashes, ext tubes, bellows & even the 85mm T/S lens not forgetting also some studio lights. really enuf to eat air liao!! dun believe, u go ask those Sith lords, they have already attained a state whereby they dun need to eat, drink sleep or breathe; just BUY! BUY! BUY! to survive.
Old 13th May 2005   #18
simon80

And the price of this lens is .... ?
Old 13th May 2005   #19
amospi

Originally Posted by simon80
And the price of this lens is .... ?
Sharp enough to slice a big hole on your pocket
Old 13th May 2005   #20
zmwang

Very good ah, I am thinking of whether to keep my AIS version, coz there is not metering on D70. Or I should get a D2X.
Closed Thread