Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sorry, I'm a newbie, correct me if I'm wrong...

Default Sorry, I'm a newbie, correct me if I'm wrong...

Normally, I don't think that I will be concerned with something like this, but recently this "newbie" line has been popping up too often at so many threads that it's starting to irk me.

What I'm taking issue with is, if you are unsure or don't know about something, then why write it in the first place? If a newbie really wants to learn about something, all he/she should do is ASK. Not make comments about something and expect somebody else to come along and correct the comment. What if nobody comes along at all? Wouldn't it be misleading to the original thread poster and contribute to his/her confusion?

Even for newbies, I think there is still a need to post and make comments responsibly. I'm not discouraging newbies from participating in thread discussions, it's just that don't let "I'm still a newbie, and I'm still learning..." become too convenient an escape line for avoiding responsibility for your comments.

That's all from me... just a submarine coming to the surface to recharge batteries.
    Last edited by Prismatic; 11th May 2005 at 07:58 PM.

hmmm....maybe those who are really interested to contribute are really unsure lor. like if i had really wanted to help the thread starter regarding his/her problem, but i only have a fraction of the solid knowledge/information that he/she needs, i will just post wadever i noe, and hope it might just enlighten the starter abit.

well, forums are for discussion mah. so u correct me, i correct u, u help me, i help u, we correct & help each other, then can foster a much better learning & friendly online environment here in clubsnap!

i dun think people are actually abusing this "sorry, im a newbie, correct me if im wrong" statment lar... well, if their posts are ridiculously absurd and does not help in wadsoever way, then those can be shot lar.