Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42

Thread: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

  1. #21
    Member Mythmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Buangkok MRT
    Posts
    1,011

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    So is it a design problem with the RF603, or P mode, or Nikon?

    I find it quite strange that the RF 603 didn't send a disable HSS by default.

  2. #22
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mythmaker View Post
    So is it a design problem with the RF603, or P mode, or Nikon?
    Good question Nikon won't care about YN (as a cheaper competitor to its own flash devices), YN will blame Nikon for not releasing details .. Till the cow comes home or YN succeeds in reverse engineering.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mythmaker View Post
    I find it quite strange that the RF 603 didn't send a disable HSS by default.
    See above. YN would not know what to 'say'. I suspect the YN flash trigger just does enough the be recognized at TTL compatible flash, nothing else. It uses the trigger signal from hotshoe to fire the remote flash. Done.
    EOS

  3. #23
    Member Mythmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Buangkok MRT
    Posts
    1,011

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Good question Nikon won't care about YN (as a cheaper competitor to its own flash devices), YN will blame Nikon for not releasing details .. Till the cow comes home or YN succeeds in reverse engineering.

    See above. YN would not know what to 'say'. I suspect the YN flash trigger just does enough the be recognized at TTL compatible flash, nothing else. It uses the trigger signal from hotshoe to fire the remote flash. Done.
    Thanks

    Actually, I think they do. Their YN622 is HSS enabled so it appears to me that they know what command to return to the body to feedback whether HSS is on or off... Even before the YN622, their YN568 flash also has HSS...
    Last edited by Mythmaker; 9th September 2013 at 05:02 PM.

  4. #24
    Member CasualBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mythmaker View Post

    Thanks

    Actually, I think they do. Their YN622 is HSS enabled so it appears to me that they know what command to return to the body to feedback whether HSS is on or off... Even before the YN622, their YN568 flash also has HSS...
    HSS is Canon.. different from Nikon.. one speaks hokkien the other speaks Cantonese..
    Leave nothing but footprints, take nothing but photos..~ ;)

  5. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CasualBear View Post

    HSS is Canon.. different from Nikon.. one speaks hokkien the other speaks Cantonese..
    nikon has hss.

  6. #26
    Member CasualBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post

    nikon has hss.
    Oh yar.. u r right to highlight my ignorance.. just Google it and a good explanation is available
    http://www.scantips.com/lights/flashbasics2b.html
    Seems the issue is this the flash being triggered wireless from the transmitter... n not from horseshoe..
    Leave nothing but footprints, take nothing but photos..~ ;)

  7. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CasualBear View Post

    Oh yar.. u r right to highlight my ignorance.. just Google it and a good explanation is available
    http://www.scantips.com/lights/flashbasics2b.html
    Seems the issue is this the flash being triggered wireless from the transmitter... n not from horseshoe..
    HORSEshoe and HOTshoe are 2 different things.

  8. #28
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by eleveninth View Post
    HORSEshoe and HOTshoe are 2 different things.
    they don't look alike too...




    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    East side
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    The RF-603 is a simple wireless trigger system without i-TTL and HSS capability. It does not matter Whether the flash is Nikon or 3rd patry with HSS feature. Like Octarine said " It uses the trigger signal from hotshoe to fire the remote flash" that's all, no recognition, no feedback, no msg.
    Canon | Oly | Fuji

  10. #30
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mythmaker View Post

    Thanks

    Actually, I think they do. Their YN622 is HSS enabled so it appears to me that they know what command to return to the body to feedback whether HSS is on or off... Even before the YN622, their YN568 flash also has HSS...
    Most of the cheaper ttl triggers just do a simple read and relay. So what ever signal goes in and out is read and sent via rf then conveyed. Not much techonology involved. So it reads and relay signals from all contact points.

    For non ttl triggers, they just read the center trigger voltage then orders the other units to fire as well.
    Last edited by daredevil123; 10th September 2013 at 02:05 PM.

  11. #31
    Member CasualBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post

    Most of the cheaper ttl triggers just do a simple read and relay. So what ever signal goes in and out is read and sent via rf then conveyed. Not much techonology involved. So it reads and relay signals from all contact points.

    For non ttl triggers, they just read the center trigger voltage then orders the other units to fire as well.
    In layman terms.. means use original, wouldn't go wrong.. use third party, must know the correct settings?
    Leave nothing but footprints, take nothing but photos..~ ;)

  12. #32
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by CasualBear View Post
    In layman terms.. means use original, wouldn't go wrong.. use third party, must know the correct settings?
    No, it doesn't matter whether original or third party. In both cases laymen need to learn a few things to make knowledgeable decisions about settings. Most important: learn about the basics of flash photography and the capabilities of the equipment.
    EOS

  13. #33
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    they don't look alike too...




    hahaha, this is funny
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  14. #34
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mythmaker View Post
    Thanks

    Actually, I think they do. Their YN622 is HSS enabled so it appears to me that they know what command to return to the body to feedback whether HSS is on or off... Even before the YN622, their YN568 flash also has HSS...
    1) some older canon EF mount 3rd party lens doesnt work with newer cameras (except it still works when aperture is set to wide open, any no. other than that error pops up).
    2) many 3 party flash has compatibility chart to tell u which camera it will not work with, but all canon camera works in ETTL or ETTL2, nikon with iTTL, the pin arrangement are the same according to the makers.

    maybe u can check the compatibility chart?
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  15. #35
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by CasualBear View Post
    In layman terms.. means use original, wouldn't go wrong.. use third party, must know the correct settings?
    Doing any sort of flash photography, must know correct settings. No matter original or not, TTL or not.

    But what I wrote in my last post has nothing whatsoever to do with original or 3rd party. Wonder how you managed to extrapolate to that.

  16. #36
    Member CasualBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post

    Doing any sort of flash photography, must know correct settings. No matter original or not, TTL or not.

    But what I wrote in my last post has nothing whatsoever to do with original or 3rd party. Wonder how you managed to extrapolate to that.
    "Most cheaper ttl.. " the last I check.. most original flash r easily 3times more than third party flash.. ie the simple sb400 cost abt $400 while the Yong nuo 560 iii only $100?
    can't help but generalized the price effect here..
    Leave nothing but footprints, take nothing but photos..~ ;)

  17. #37
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by CasualBear View Post
    In layman terms.. means use original, wouldn't go wrong.. use third party, must know the correct settings?

    whatever it is... original or third party, you need to have the knowledge, and know your tools well.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  18. #38

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by v0857 View Post
    The RF-603 is a simple wireless trigger system without i-TTL and HSS capability. It does not matter Whether the flash is Nikon or 3rd patry with HSS feature. Like Octarine said " It uses the trigger signal from hotshoe to fire the remote flash" that's all, no recognition, no feedback, no msg.
    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Most of the cheaper ttl triggers just do a simple read and relay. So what ever signal goes in and out is read and sent via rf then conveyed. Not much techonology involved. So it reads and relay signals from all contact points.

    For non ttl triggers, they just read the center trigger voltage then orders the other units to fire as well.
    http://dpanswers.com/content/rev_radio_yn.php

    well... that's why people pay top dollar for 3rd Party trigger that support the TTL pass through.

    some examples:

    http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=170

    http://www.dpreview.com/articles/030...ger-for-canon-

  19. #39
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by CasualBear View Post
    "Most cheaper ttl.. " the last I check.. most original flash r easily 3times more than third party flash.. ie the simple sb400 cost abt $400 while the Yong nuo 560 iii only $100?
    can't help but generalized the price effect here..
    We are talking about triggers here. Not flashes.

    And there are 3rd party triggers that cost more than the nikon/canon ones, like Phottix Odin, Pocketwizards controlTL triggers. Not only do they relay TTL signals, they also give you the ability to manage groups, power ratios and in some cases, adjust the trigger sync so you can flash at high shutter speeds without even using HSS.

    PS. SB400 costs around $180 new. And if you want to compare, check out prices of other 3rd party flashes like Metz and Quantum.

  20. #40
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Flash Sync Speed set at 1/250 but picture was taken at 1/500 on P Mode, why?

    Quote Originally Posted by kei1309 View Post
    http://dpanswers.com/content/rev_radio_yn.php

    well... that's why people pay top dollar for 3rd Party trigger that support the TTL pass through.

    some examples:

    http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=170

    http://www.dpreview.com/articles/030...ger-for-canon-
    the Odin, King pro and Pocketwizard C-TL triggers are not simple pass-through and relay triggers actually. The simple TTL ones are like the Pixel knight.
    Last edited by daredevil123; 11th September 2013 at 10:49 AM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •