View Poll Results: What image settings will you use on your camera when doing model photo shoot?

Voters
56. You may not vote on this poll
  • RAW

    28 50.00%
  • Fine - 6 Megapixels

    26 46.43%
  • Normal - 3 Megapixels

    2 3.57%
  • Basic - 1.5 Megapixels

    0 0%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 43

Thread: Camera Image Size

  1. #1
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default Camera Image Size

    Hi guys, just wanna get some feedback from you professionals. When you do a photo shoot for models, what image size do you people normally use? I am going to do a shoot with models this weekend but I do not know what image size shall I set on my camera.

    Any advice?
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    東京 Tokyo
    Posts
    10,193

    Default

    i always shoot at the largest size available and 'fine' quality setting for jpeg ... haven't tried RAW so can't advice on that, but some will prefer to do model shoot in RAW, especially in studio.

    ADD: the megapixels differs with cameras, so that should be excluded from the poll if possible

    ADD: and oh ... yah, i am not a professional btw
    Last edited by eikin; 5th May 2005 at 10:39 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eikin
    i always shoot at the largest size available and 'fine' quality setting for jpeg ... haven't tried RAW so can't advice on that, but some will prefer to do model shoot in RAW, especially in studio.
    But wouldn't it make your picture size very big and not easily manageable?
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    東京 Tokyo
    Posts
    10,193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeckson Chow
    But wouldn't it make your picture size very big and not easily manageable?
    what do you mean by 'not easily manageable'?

  5. #5

    Default

    I prefer to shoot RAW - but that's just me. Each file for me is about 8MP.

    Like Eikin, I'm not quite sure what you mean by not easily manageable? Because the file sizes become too big?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    Oh, sorry, what I meant by not manageable is that the file size is so big, when we have quite a number of pictures in our camera and wanted to transfer it to our computer, or when we want to move the pictures around, it would take some time to do lor.

    Because when we shoot, I am quite sure that we do not just shoot a few pictures mah. We will tend to shoot a bit more. So when this number becomes big, moving these files will be slow or perhaps difficult lor.
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    No 1, I'm not professional, but still will try to answer your question.

    I would definitely shoot at max res, max filesize on the D70 - ie RAW (6MP) or L Fine (6MP).

    Regarding your worry about huge amount of images, moving images around is nothing to be concerned about. You prefer to have better quality image files or files that are small but with lousy quality?

    When you shoot JPEG, the image is already compressed and data loss.

    Basic: 1:16
    Normal: 1:8
    Fine: 1:4
    RAW/TIFF: 1:1

    That's why when you convert from RAW -> JPEG/TIFF, the file size is larger than shooting JPEG direct as you control the resulting compression.

    Well, to me, at least storage shouldn't be a headache, getting your shots done the way you want, is.

    Cheers.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeckson Chow
    Oh, sorry, what I meant by not manageable is that the file size is so big, when we have quite a number of pictures in our camera and wanted to transfer it to our computer, or when we want to move the pictures around, it would take some time to do lor.

    Because when we shoot, I am quite sure that we do not just shoot a few pictures mah. We will tend to shoot a bit more. So when this number becomes big, moving these files will be slow or perhaps difficult lor.
    Part and parcel of digital photography lor...just a bit of patience

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    東京 Tokyo
    Posts
    10,193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeckson Chow
    Oh, sorry, what I meant by not manageable is that the file size is so big, when we have quite a number of pictures in our camera and wanted to transfer it to our computer, or when we want to move the pictures around, it would take some time to do lor.

    Because when we shoot, I am quite sure that we do not just shoot a few pictures mah. We will tend to shoot a bit more. So when this number becomes big, moving these files will be slow or perhaps difficult lor.
    it's part of the workflow, don't you want your images to be of the highest quality?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    Hmm... Yes, you guys are right. Thanks brothers!
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Westy
    Posts
    2,671

    Default

    why bother using a good cam with high res settings and yet take ur pics in basic res and end up regretting ur res not clear enough and all?

    i almost can't see any situation i would use low quality jpg, even on a normal p&s, unless i can't even afford to buy a decent sized memory card...

  12. #12
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ~Arcanic~
    why bother using a good cam with high res settings and yet take ur pics in basic res and end up regretting ur res not clear enough and all?

    i almost can't see any situation i would use low quality jpg, even on a normal p&s, unless i can't even afford to buy a decent sized memory card...
    Good point you have there, bro Arcanic.
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Lower Seletar Reservoir
    Posts
    1,048

    Default

    Shoot in the highest possible resolution in Jpeg/Fine.

    Learnt my lesson 3 years ago when I was in Italy. Brought only a 2MP CoolPix, yet I still shot in 640x480, instead of 1600x1200. In the end, all 1500+ pix cannot print, hehe... Luckily got 2 rolls of B&W prints.

  14. #14

    Default

    shoot in raw. better control and editing in CS.

  15. #15

    Default

    I always shot one level below Raw... eg Large extra fine JPG for my case...

  16. #16

    Default

    wat is d image dimensions?

  17. #17
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    I may need to explore RAW a bit later because I scared I screwed up. I can try shooting in JPEG, Fine - Large format but I can only shoot about 270 pictures using this format.

    I do not know much about post processing, still learing. I heard that Photoshop or Image Ready cannot read NEF files? Need to patch it or something, I cannot be sure.
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Westy
    Posts
    2,671

    Default

    i'm not too sure about this, dun quote me on it...
    but when u buy ur D70, there should be a software that comes along with it to process ur NEF/RAW files into jpg etc right...?

    try digging up ur manual and box, it should be included, at least for my canon it comes along together...

  19. #19
    Senior Member Zeckson Chow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Currently in Singapore
    Posts
    6,238

    Default

    I do have the Nikon Capture 4.0... Never try it before... Is it good?
    Speaking of ART is USELESS if one cannot FEEL anything.
    My Photo Albums

  20. #20

    Default

    I found out that when you edit in PS, you should not save as JPG unless it is the final one. Its okay to take the image as a JPG but once edited, you should save it as PSD/TIFF unless you do not intend to edit it further.
    Each time you save as JPG, the compression algorithmn is repeated and quality degrades. Something to lookout for in your workflow.
    But this could potentially end up in large PSD/TIFF files. That's what a DVD burner is for I guess..

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •