Thread: Does the Customs have the right to do a body check.....

Default Does the Customs have the right to do a body check.....

......on me in front of the other members of the public?

Returned to Singapore via Woodlands checkpoint on Friday night. We all had to queue and some members of the public in front of me had to empty their pockets and placed the contents on the baskets provided.

Come my turn, the officer ran the handheld scanner over my body. Since I was wearing a pair of cargo trousers, I was asked to empty the cargo pockets which I duly obeyed. He then tapped with his hands my back pocket and the length of my trousers all the way down to my ankles.

I got a bit embarassed and angry because of that. I know that it could all be because of the coming 1st anniversary of 11/9. However, my question is do you think the officer has the right to do a body check on me in front of the other members of the public?

Thanks for any input.

Default Re: Does the Customs have the right to do a body check.....

Originally posted by drafting88

Returned to Singapore via Woodlands checkpoint on Friday night. We all had to queue and some members of the public in front of me had to empty their pockets and placed the contents on the baskets provided.

Come my turn, the officer ran the handheld scanner over my body. Since I was wearing a pair of cargo trousers, I was asked to empty the cargo pockets which I duly obeyed. He then tapped with his hands my back pocket and the length of my trousers all the way down to my ankles.

Yes. As long as you're not female...
    I got a bit embarassed and angry because of that. I know that it could all be because of the coming 1st anniversary of 11/9. However, my question is do you think the officer has the right to do a body check on me in front of the other members of the public?

Thanks for any input.
    As long as you aren't female...

Thanks for any input.