Thread: reccomendations?

Default reccomendations?

hey all!

i'm a newbie to photography, and when i say newbie, i mean it! i like to travel a fair bit and i'm sick of using my crusty old no-zoom-no-features just point and shoot camera with the traditional film.. not to mention that most of the time the prints end up fuzzy.

i'm thinking of getting a digicam and i need expert views on this! my budget's about S$400 - S$600, and i wanna get something that's both easy to use as a point and shoot, as well as being able to grow with me as i learn more about photography.

i have my eyes on the Canon AXX series, as well as the Nikon XX00 series. specifically, thinking of Canon A95 and Nikon 5200/5600. of course, i am open to more suggestions! i'm thinking of getting at least 4.0 megapixels (in case, somehow, i get a nice picture and i wanna blow it up). i'm also concerned about issues like camera-shake, but from what i know, only Panasonic seems to have those anti-shake technology?

much appreciated if all you experts out there could comment! one more thing, i'm gonna go backpacking and will bring my (hopefully) new cam along, was wondering if any of you may know if travel insurance would cover for it in case it gets lost?

thanks for your kind attention! this forum has lots of impressive shutterbugs and i'm hoping i can have a fraction of your shooting talents!

hmmm...

let me TRY to help(dunno if it helps not )

the Canon A95 wld be a gd start, so wld be the Nikon 4600/5600

A95 allows u to learn abt some manual features like the shutter control etc. and thats gd if u r thinking of gg more into photography. but its down side is that its pretty bulky for a P&S

the Nikon 4/5600 doesnt allow as much manual functions but is still capable of some great shots. u can PM espn and ask him to show u some shots. there is this D-Lighting feature which really gives great exposures. great for newbies imho.