Thread: Canon G12 help needed!

Default Canon G12 help needed!

Hi people,

I have a 2 years old Canon G12 that recently jammed. When I turned it on, it automatically focuses and locks the focus. After that, nothing I press can change this, even after I reset the camera to factory settings.

I brought it to Canon Service centre and their technician said that the probable issue is that the focus button is half-jammed, thus the auto focus and focus-lock immediately. They say they will have to open the camera and replace the part so is probably hardware issue.

I was quoted an estimated rate of $180, which imo is too ex for replacement of just the shutter button part!

Can anyone help me on this please? Like if there are cheaper alternatives or any DIY Repairs that you know of.

I would appreciate anyone's help very much since I'm a newbie on ClubSnap, thank you!

Hi people,

I have a 2 years old Canon G12 that recently jammed. When I turned it on, it automatically focuses and locks the focus. After that, nothing I press can change this, even after I reset the camera to factory settings.

I brought it to Canon Service centre and their technician said that the probable issue is that the focus button is half-jammed, thus the auto focus and focus-lock immediately. They say they will have to open the camera and replace the part so is probably hardware issue.

I was quoted an estimated rate of $180, which imo is too ex for replacement of just the shutter button part!

Can anyone help me on this please? Like if there are cheaper alternatives or any DIY Repairs that you know of.

I would appreciate anyone's help very much since I'm a newbie on ClubSnap, thank you!

Hi people,

Default Re: Canon G12 help needed!

do not post same message across more than one forum, this is spamming.

thread merged.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

Canon service centre already gave u an answer.