Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Starhub Maxonline surfing

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default Starhub Maxonline surfing

    Is it just me or has surfing overseas sites been very sllllloooooow lately???

  2. #2

    Default

    mine seems quite fast.

  3. #3
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default

    me too... overseas site is getting slower, and my dl speeds is dropping like crazy...

    its getting slower la.... tats for sure..

  4. #4
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default

    btw, can someone teach me how to restrict the amt of bandwith in the computer or router ? coz i have 2 comps running at the same time, so i wan to restrict one with higher bandwith for uploading works, and dling and lower bandwith for normal useage ??

    and also hw to restrict the wi-fi to one person ??

    i am using the Linksys B wireless.. hehe..

  5. #5

    Default

    Change channels? Someone in your area might be using the same channel as you, leading to noise, so your computer has to check signals first before using. This leads to slowness.

  6. #6

    Default

    OMG, sooo many people using wireless nowadays arr ? it's fairly easy to tap and break into one wireless network.

    Answering to GO, you can use ur router's built-in program that allows only certain MAC IP to access to ur network. And for restriction, you can try using softwares like NetLimiter ? haha

    If that doesn't answer, guess u can bring ur questions to ur local computer expert.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glennyong
    btw, can someone teach me how to restrict the amt of bandwith in the computer or router ? coz i have 2 comps running at the same time, so i wan to restrict one with higher bandwith for uploading works, and dling and lower bandwith for normal useage ??

    and also hw to restrict the wi-fi to one person ??

    i am using the Linksys B wireless.. hehe..
    Bandwidth restriction, you need to have QoS to prioritize your traffic. If you're using a WRT54G... then just install the 3rd party firmware.

    Wifi to 1 person? MAC filtering.

  8. #8
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Bandwidth restriction, you need to have QoS to prioritize your traffic. If you're using a WRT54G... then just install the 3rd party firmware.

    Wifi to 1 person? MAC filtering.
    Qos Packing ? this one can set on the router one ?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glennyong
    Qos Packing ? this one can set on the router one ?
    I'm not sure what model your router is .. if its the WRT54G ... 3rd party firmware from Alchemy.. does support QoS .. using it at home. The latest firmware from linksys might be able to support QoS. I'm not very sure.

  10. #10
    Senior Member glennyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,587

    Default

    erm mine is the BEFW11S4 de... hmmmz....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •