Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Where To Replace Sensor

  1. #1

    Default Where To Replace Sensor

    Hi, I have an old Olympus DSLR and it's sensor shows one line of blue streak only in higher ISO 800 and above, I am thinking to replace the sensor. May I know from the experts here where should I go to get the sensor replaced? Understand it may also be possible to replace with other sensor i.e. Kodak ones too (read from DPreview). I love the color of the camera thus would like to keep it in pristine condition as much as possible. Thanks. Cheers.

  2. #2

    Default

    Bring it to Olympus...
    Alpha

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Where To Replace Sensor

    You should try Camera Hospital at Bencoolen but I doubt they would have the capabilities to switch out your sensor - or like Rashkae said - Bring your cam and pay Olympus a visit...

  4. #4
    Moderator rhino123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    5,247

    Default Re: Where To Replace Sensor

    1) Bring to Olympus (safest way, but since you mentioned it is an old DSLR, not sure if Olympus still has spare part)
    2) Do it yourself (see if you can buy a sensor from places like ebay)
    3) Bring to Camera Hospital or PGcamera.
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

  5. #5

    Default Re: Where To Replace Sensor

    Thanks, I will probably try DIY it, given the few options.

  6. #6
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Where To Replace Sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by audiobean View Post
    Thanks, I will probably try DIY it, given the few options.

    remember to record the whole process into video, upload to youtube that able to help many others.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  7. #7
    Senior Member fatigue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Blk138 Bedok North Ave3
    Posts
    2,924

    Default Re: Where To Replace Sensor

    Sensor replacement usually cost more than a good 2nd camera.

    The procedure is not straight forward, a few required adjustments using "special" PC software.
    Special because only the manufacturer has it.
    Last edited by fatigue; 11th July 2013 at 11:47 AM.
    9815-1974
    FB: Hilos Camera Repair

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •