Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    421

    Default Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    Hi guys..

    I intend to upgrade my old photoshop 7.

    Is there any logical if I install latest lightroom/photoshop software but did not calibrate my monitor?

    Thanks in advance.
    ~PeaceNoWar~

  2. #2
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    It is all up to you. Logic or no logic doesn't matter.

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    Quote Originally Posted by intrance View Post
    Hi guys..

    I intend to upgrade my old photoshop 7.

    Is there any logical if I install latest lightroom/photoshop software but did not calibrate my monitor?

    Thanks in advance.
    Old software, new software, photoshop or any other tool, you should calibrate your monitor anyway.
    Alpha

  5. #5
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    Quote Originally Posted by intrance View Post
    Is there any logical if I install latest lightroom/photoshop software but did not calibrate my monitor?
    No, there is no logic in installing any image editing software without calibrating the screen.
    EOS

  6. #6
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    No, there is no logic in installing any image editing software without calibrating the screen.
    Yea I agree.
    sigh.

  7. #7
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    without calibrated monitor, all your editing is inaccurate, the photos will only look OK on your monitor.

    if you don't print, don't share your photos, or shoot for people for paid or unpaid, that is pretty ok to go without any monitor calibration, and you may consider stick to this monitor, since all existing and past photos will look different once you change to a new monitor.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    421

    Default Re: Calibrating monitor for lightroom/photoshop?

    Many thanks guys for the comments..

    I guess i should do the calibrating first then..
    ~PeaceNoWar~

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •