Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: In which mode should I use? A, M, P, S?

Default In which mode should I use? A, M, P, S?

Hi Photogs..of coz Noob here, asking questions I do not understand. Here we go:-

1) Started shooting since March 2013, totally no idea. Bought an OM-D + Kit Lens 12-50mm, Oly 45mm & Sigma 19mm + Manfrotto tripod. Been renting other lens to explore around with.

2) Self-learning thru Youtube & Google. A loner, no Kaki!

3) I don't really have a style of my own, i'd like to explore - Street, Potrait, B&W, Long exposure, Landscape, Architecture etc.

4) Here's my Flikr iamseanism's photosets on Flickr

5) Q - I have no idea when & how to use Apeture & Shutter Speed settings, always trial & error. Results - Mostly UNSHARP ...long exposure for 30sec, is the Apeture always auto to the max?

6) Sometimes I'll overblow some shots or it's either too dark

7) Really need some piece of advise

Appreciate some help here. THANK YOU

Have you read your manual? Read through the newbies guide to photography sticky we have here in CS? It will answer what aperture and shutter speed do, etc. Once you understand what they do, you will be able to apply this to your photography.
    Alpha

Default Re: In which mode should I use? A, M, P, S?

[moderator mode off]

A mode: for Artistic

S mode: for Sweet or "Sui" (pretty, nice in hockkian)

M mode: for Master

P mode: for Professional

Green mode: Green light aka Anything goes aka Party Mode

[moderator mode on]

political correct answer: it is written in your camera user manual.

advance reading: Understand Exposure by Bryan Peterson,

Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

for people don't like reading or have difficultly in reading...