Page 12 of 65 FirstFirst ... 27101112131417223762 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 240 of 1299

Thread: Ricoh GR

  1. #221
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,464

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by vengels View Post
    I have a question about using snap focus..

    When I set the focus mode to snap focus and press the shutter.. Somehow the camera will try to AF as if I half pressed the shutter..

    Is there any settings I missed out or my technique is wrong?
    It's just the camera moving the lens element to the required snap focus distance.
    If I are auto focusing to infinity, then change to snap focus and if it's set to 1m, that camera will still need to set itself to 1m. U might need the lens element moving during this time.
    David Teo
    View my work and blog at http://www.5stonesphoto.com/blog

  2. #222
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,464

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Hi

    The GR seems to have lost a favorite feature of mine while shooting on the streets with the GRDiv. Just wanna confirm if it's the same with your cameras.

    The GRDiv has a Shoot with LCD off mode which allows me to shoot and change aperture and shutter speeds with the LCD off (LCD will come on momentarily if I turn the shutter speed or aperture dial to allow me to see what I changed to). In conjunction with the tiny but excellent GV-2 finder I was able to shoot without the LCD on at all, saving battery and being more stealthy, ESP at night. I can change settings with the camera held down without looking at it and shoot without the LCD lighting up (I turned the picture review to off in all my cameras)

    The new GR does allow me to shoot blind but it does not allow changing aperture and shutter speeds with the display off - not only does it not turn on momentarily, if I spin the dial several clicks, I turn the LCD back on and realised the shutter speed hasn't been changed at all... So now to change aperture or shutter speeds, I will be forced to turn on the LCD and look down to confirm changes..... Does it look like that on your cameras?

    If so this is a much valuable feature lost in this new GR....
    Last edited by Red Dawn; 9th June 2013 at 08:06 AM.
    David Teo
    View my work and blog at http://www.5stonesphoto.com/blog

  3. #223
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    behind my camera
    Posts
    2,734

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    It is not lost. You need to turn on Information Display Mode under the Setup menu for this to work.


    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dawn View Post
    Hi

    The GR seems to have lost a favorite feature of mine while shooting on the streets with the GRDiv. Just wanna confirm if it's the same with your cameras.

    The GRDiv has a Shoot with LCD off mode which allows me to shoot and change aperture and shutter speeds with the LCD off (LCD will come on momentarily if I turn the shutter speed or aperture dial to allow me to see what I changed to). In conjunction with the tiny but excellent GV-2 finder I was able to shoot without the LCD on at all, saving battery and being more stealthy, ESP at night. I can change settings with the camera held down without looking at it and shoot without the LCD lighting up (I turned the picture review to off in all my cameras)

    The new GR does allow me to shoot blind but it does not allow changing aperture and shutter speeds with the display off - not only does it not turn on momentarily, if I spin the dial several clicks, I turn the LCD back on and realised the shutter speed hasn't been changed at all... So now to change aperture or shutter speeds, I will be forced to turn on the LCD and look down to confirm changes..... Does it look like that on your cameras?

    If so this is a much valuable feature lost in this new GR....

  4. #224

    Default

    Can u guys stop posting photos from this bugger? I can't take it any more.

  5. #225
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    5,154

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelLee View Post
    sibei nice !!!
    Thanks, Bro!

  6. #226
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    5,154

    Default Re: Ricoh GR


    In-camera B&W, SOOC tones.



  7. #227
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    5,154

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Guys, those who has the GR already .. what have you set for your MY1, MY2, MY3?

    Really love the configurability of this wonderful compact.

    Mine's
    MY1 - for landscape, focus set at infinity, manual mode, Multi-meter, aperture set at f11, fn2 set to self-timer, Vivid in-camera, NR all OFF.
    MY2 - for b+w street, focus set at snapfocus, TAv mode, Spot Metering, aperture set at f5.6, effect set to b+w, NR auto.
    MY3 - for occasional portraiture, 35mm crop, Av mode, aperture set at f2.8, effect set to positive film, NR auto.

    Yours?
    Last edited by hjbyeo; 9th June 2013 at 10:10 PM.

  8. #228
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    5,154

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by ray_stinger View Post
    It is not lost. You need to turn on Information Display Mode under the Setup menu for this to work.
    Thanks! Great info.

  9. #229
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bukit Timah
    Posts
    370

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by hjbyeo View Post
    Guys, those who has the GR already .. what have you set for your MY1, MY2, MY3?

    Really love the configurability of this wonderful compact.

    Mine's
    MY1 - for landscape, focus set at infinity, manual mode, Multi-meter, aperture set at f11, fn2 set to self-timer, Vivid in-camera, NR all OFF.
    MY2 - for b+w street, focus set at snapfocus, TAv mode, Spot Metering, aperture set at f5.6, effect set to b+w, NR auto.
    MY3 - for occasional portraiture, 35mm crop, Av mode, aperture set at f2.8, effect set to positive film, NR auto.

    Yours?
    Good recommendation. I haven't put much thought in it though haha... MY1 for B&W and MY2 for "Fast" stuff, Tv mode and slightly higher base ISO so I can control the shutter snap quickly... MY3 is still empty, maybe I'll follow your portrait mode!
    ___BLUE_QUARTZ___
    Flickr | Ricoh GR

  10. #230
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    behind my camera
    Posts
    2,734

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    A few more test shots taken this evening. The resolving power of this camera is pretty amazing.






  11. #231
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    5,154

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by ray_stinger View Post
    A few more test shots taken this evening. The resolving power of this camera is pretty amazing.
    Somehow I felt it resolves similar to the GXR 28. Same hazy evening ... same dreadful sky.


    GR28 "+film" effect


    Last edited by hjbyeo; 10th June 2013 at 12:10 AM.

  12. #232
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    behind my camera
    Posts
    2,734

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Hmm, technology has came a long way for a camera of this size to resolve DSLR quality photos.

    The hazy sky is not doing this camera much justice imo.

    Quote Originally Posted by hjbyeo View Post
    Somehow I felt it resolves similar to the GXR 28. Same hazy evening ... same dreadful sky.


    GR28 "+film" effect



  13. #233
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,464

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by ray_stinger View Post
    It is not lost. You need to turn on Information Display Mode under the Setup menu for this to work.
    Hi

    Genius.... Thanks! I remember turning it off thinking it's irrelevant. The grd4 didn't have this extra control.
    Leaving for Tokyo in a few hours with the GR in the bag. If the past few days were any indication, my m9 is going to spend a lot of time in the bag when I am on the streets of Tokyo
    David Teo
    View my work and blog at http://www.5stonesphoto.com/blog

  14. #234

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    will the GR be available in white?

  15. #235
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    JB, SG
    Posts
    3,529

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by tofu master View Post
    will the GR be available in white?
    no answer as of now. but personally I hope there will be a limited edition.

  16. #236
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,304

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelLee View Post
    no answer as of now. but personally I hope there will be a limited edition.
    I seriously hope not, else I will need to buy another one
    RICOH GRD I / II / III / IV / GR / GXR

  17. #237
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    5,154

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by Randius View Post
    I seriously hope not, else I will need to buy another one
    I don't think it'll be a white one. They came out with different ones for each LTD ed. So I am going to assume that there'll be a different theme.

  18. #238
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,304

    Default Re: Ricoh GR

    Quote Originally Posted by hjbyeo View Post
    I don't think it'll be a white one. They came out with different ones for each LTD ed. So I am going to assume that there'll be a different theme.
    It will definitely not be a white one. But hopefully it will not be as unattractive as the Stussy edition.
    RICOH GRD I / II / III / IV / GR / GXR

  19. #239
    Member SyncGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,118

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by subatoyo View Post
    Can u guys stop posting photos from this bugger? I can't take it any more.
    Neither can I... Can this LiL machine do in-camera pano? Just curious..
    Pentax Kr, Pentax Super A
    K105/2.8, Fa*24/2, A28/2, A35/2, A50/1.4, A*85/1.4, A100/2.8, A135/2.8

  20. #240
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    behind my camera
    Posts
    2,734

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SyncGuy View Post

    Neither can I... Can this LiL machine do in-camera pano? Just curious..
    No in-camera pano. It is striped off the fanciful gimmicks and left with only the controls and functions that truly matter to a photographer.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •