Thread: Beauty walking by the sea

Default Beauty walking by the sea

Hi everyone, thank you for taking your time on my photo.

1. In which area is critique or feedback to be given?
    Composition, white balance, post-proceeding, and interact with model...

2. What were you hoping to achieve with this image?
    A girl walking by the sea, with the light from sunset shining on her face. Hope this can bring the feeling of beauty and face.
    In fact I do want to add more things into the photo, like the mystery feel like Siren, however I don't know how to "tell a story" with my DC.

3. Under what circumstance was the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
    The photo was taken at Tioman Island around 6 pm. So the light at that time was not that warm, and I change the white balance.
    Camera: Nikon D300s. Lens: 16-85mm 3.5/5.6. Using 16mm. 1/2000s. f/3.5 ISO200.

4. Thread-starter's personal thoughts about the image.
    As a newbie, I'm quite happy with this photo. More seas in photo might make it better, however the shape of the shore and island also make the photo more vivid.

Default Re: Beauty walking by the sea

Would be nice if i could see the sunset like her. I feel disconnected from the subject.

You should decide whether you want a portrait (then focus on the face) or a landscape picture. You picture is somewhere in between...
    For landscape and sunset at Tioman I would recommend closing the aperture, using hyperfocal settings, increasing exposure by at least 1 stop. All your dark areas have lost every detail, but since the sun is shining at them (trees in background) there should be plenty of details still visible.
    If you want to tell a story then start with composition. If it's not there then no editing later will add any storyline.
    Simplify, you have too many things in the frame that call for attention: the stones around her feet, the beach, the dark patches of forest and the island..
    EOS