Thread: FD lenses with M4/3

Hi everyone,

Thanks for reading this thread.

I am no expert in cameras and I am certainly not verse in photographic equipments like FD lenses etc so kindly forgive me if the questions I ask is not acceptable to you.

Im looking for buy either a Sony Nex 7 or a Olympus Pen (not sure what is the latest in the market, maybe the EP3)... This camera is for my dad who previously bought some FD lenses for his film EOS analog camera many years ago and the FD lenses are in the dry cabinet for donkey years now, recently we bought an adaptor for my 60D and we sense he is keen in using his FD lenses to shoot on a digital camera. My dad is 60+ and he doesnt like the bulk and weight of a dslr, also he loves the size and weight of a m4/3 which can give very good IQ... Also the Nex seem to have solid sensor at high ISO... but again we are not verse with any M4/3 camera..

We would like to buy a m4/3 camera for his birthday but we are not sure which of the m4/3 camera can handle the FD lenses well... We watch some reviews on youtube - digitalrev and though they are not fd lenses but its interesting to see that the Sony is really good (Nex 3)...

I am not sure which of the m4/3 will 'marry well' with the FD lenses, I believe most m4/3 can use an adaptor to fit those lenses but not sure which can handle the FD (very old) lenses well esp its a 'competitor' brand...