Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How is double exposure well archieve?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    woodland
    Posts
    110

    Default How is double exposure well archieve?

    i read abt the double exposure. can anyone tell mi or elaborate to mi how to archieve. thks

  2. #2
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    best done in PS, alot more control

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    eg 1: if the correct exposure for a given scene is 10sec@f5.6, then expose at 5secs@f5.6 each.

    eg 2: if the correct exposure for a given scene is 1/500sec@f5.6, then expose at 1/1000@f5.6 each.

  4. #4
    Senior Member icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    East
    Posts
    3,874

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by foxtwo
    eg 1: if the correct exposure for a given scene is 10sec@f5.6, then expose at 5secs@f5.6 each.

    eg 2: if the correct exposure for a given scene is 1/500sec@f5.6, then expose at 1/1000@f5.6 each.
    When do we use the multiple exposure mode?
    That time i accidentally switched to multiple exposure mode and squeezed off three frames... the result is really 'rojak' LOL...
    Yngwie J. Malmsteen - "...I've never considered myself a fast guitar player..."

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icarus
    When do we use the multiple exposure mode?
    That time i accidentally switched to multiple exposure mode and squeezed off three frames... the result is really 'rojak' LOL...
    i'm not familiar with automated cameras, is there a auto function for multiple exposure? i shoot with fm2n & fe2.

    u r saying it was 3 exposures on 1 frame?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default

    If you are shooting digital, its best to use PS to do it. Exposure correct for both shots and edit.

    However, just in case you are using film...

    For negative, do what foxtwo says
    For slides, do opposite of what he said (ie, overexpose by 1 stop for each frame)

    These settings are for double exposure. For triple or more, have to compensate more.

  7. #7

    Default

    Splutter can you explain the technical reason why overexpose 1 stop for slides?
    Thread Starter sorry to hog this thread

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Behind a lens
    Posts
    2,312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icarus
    When do we use the multiple exposure mode?
    That time i accidentally switched to multiple exposure mode and squeezed off three frames... the result is really 'rojak' LOL...

    When you want a certain effect like this or similar,



    4 times exposure.

  9. #9
    Senior Member icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    East
    Posts
    3,874

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by binbeto
    When you want a certain effect like this or similar,



    4 times exposure.
    A picture speaks a thousand words
    Yngwie J. Malmsteen - "...I've never considered myself a fast guitar player..."

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Gim Boon Tai
    Posts
    2,909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zhuozehai
    Splutter can you explain the technical reason why overexpose 1 stop for slides?
    Thread Starter sorry to hog this thread
    Oppz, should have been more specific. For slides, multiple exposure is not done on the same slide. What people do is to overexpose the scene, so that that slide can be stacked on other slides to give a correct exposure when viewed together.

  11. #11

    Default

    so its either overexpose then stack or underexpose twice in a frame for slides?

  12. #12
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Splutter
    Oppz, should have been more specific. For slides, multiple exposure is not done on the same slide. What people do is to overexpose the scene, so that that slide can be stacked on other slides to give a correct exposure when viewed together.
    You are talking about sandwitch the slide, not in camera double exposure.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •