Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Voltage in Swiss, Italy and Paris... 220V or 110V?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West area
    Posts
    1,017

    Default Voltage in Swiss, Italy and Paris... 220V or 110V?

    Hi guys, I am planning a trip to Europe. Would like to ask if anyone knows what is the voltage there? I am concerned about this, so as to charge batteries (AA rechargables), as well as Ixus I Battery.

    Must I bring a convertor or any special plugs?

  2. #2
    Senior Member scud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    most europe countries run on 220V, 50Hz.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default

    Most european countries use TWO plug types, some places in France still uses older type plugs (three plugs....), better bring those adapters from the 1-dollar shops....

    HS

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default

    Thats a good site! Just to add: the two plug type in Europe are the 'tin' two plug type.....many applliances in SG comes with the 'thin' european two plug type by the way.......

    HS

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    West
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Hi,

    If you worried about power supply/voltage/plug in europe countries, then i suggest to get a multi adapter. I bought a multi adapter by targus at SLS which cost me about $35 - $40. It's a all in 1 plug. So regardless which country i'm in, all i need is to toggle the correct plug selection. Dont have to worry about voltage too. Hasslefree. Hope this is helpful.

  7. #7

    Default

    i think it will only be wise to get a multi adapter. check when you buy that it can be used in all the countries that you plan to visit. France, Italy and Switzerland use 3 different types of plugs. and all 3 are different from the types you use in singapore.
    Last edited by barracuda; 7th April 2005 at 05:06 PM.
    Come visit my blog

  8. #8

    Default

    Sian...
    I'm going Europe also...
    Need to buy those plugs...

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West area
    Posts
    1,017

    Default

    hmm, for those multi plug, is there a in built transformer to step down the voltage if needed be or step up?

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adzz
    hmm, for those multi plug, is there a in built transformer to step down the voltage if needed be or step up?
    as far as i know, no. at most they will indicate to you whether it is 220V or 110V from the line. the step up/down part has to be done by your charger which i think most of the chargers nowadays can take both 220V and 110V. Check before you use.
    Come visit my blog

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •