Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 59

Thread: PS Action needed: Batch add datetime stamp from exif info into picture.

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Northern Sector
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by knoxknocks
    go to the page where the script is, press CTRL-A, CTRL-C, Open notepad, CTRL-V. Then File -> Save As ->

    Filename: yourname.js
    Save as type: All Files
    Encoding: unicode (so that the copyright sign comes out)

    No question is silly
    One more question, I just can't find the Script inside my File menu. Me using Photoshop 7. Pls help.

  2. #22

    Default

    Just another silly qustion here.

    Well, I have got the file and now, what should I do so that I can make use of the file, not a IT ppl, so...

    Please pardon me.

    Thanks.

  3. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by knoxknocks
    oh, if you're using mac...hmmmm
    thanks for your script! works fine on the mac

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East, Macpherson
    Posts
    427

    Default

    Looking at the script, wonder whether the pictures still capture the correct lens used if the zoom range is overlap, eg. 12-24mm and 18-70mm? Which lens will be chosen if the pics were taken at 20mm and at f/8?

    Pardon me if my question were too "shallow"! I am a Photoshop dummy!

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    143

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuji Olykon
    Looking at the script, wonder whether the pictures still capture the correct lens used if the zoom range is overlap, eg. 12-24mm and 18-70mm? Which lens will be chosen if the pics were taken at 20mm and at f/8?

    Pardon me if my question were too "shallow"! I am a Photoshop dummy!
    You are right. I have read through the code, it will not capture the
    lens correctly in this case. I have read through the EXIF spec, one way
    to increase the accuracy is use the maximum aperture of the lens value
    in the spec but my 20D doesn't seems to store this information.
    But even with this (maximum aperture value) if both lens has the same
    max aperture value, then we are back to square one.

    BTW, I have fixed a bug which doesn't display the focus length
    correctly (At least for me).

    Oh yeah, almost forgot thanks knoxknocks for the script.

  6. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fokker
    One more question, I just can't find the Script inside my File menu. Me using Photoshop 7. Pls help.
    need to install the script plugin for ps 7.
    go here
    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=1536

  7. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhotoDog
    You are right. I have read through the code, it will not capture the
    lens correctly in this case. I have read through the EXIF spec, one way
    to increase the accuracy is use the maximum aperture of the lens value
    in the spec but my 20D doesn't seems to store this information.
    But even with this (maximum aperture value) if both lens has the same
    max aperture value, then we are back to square one.

    BTW, I have fixed a bug which doesn't display the focus length
    correctly (At least for me).

    Oh yeah, almost forgot thanks knoxknocks for the script.
    Actually, if you're a Nikon user, you're more fortunate, you can actually get the max focal length, min focal length and min/max aperture of the lens used in the makernote tag for Nikon. It's found in tag 132.

  8. #28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuji Olykon
    Looking at the script, wonder whether the pictures still capture the correct lens used if the zoom range is overlap, eg. 12-24mm and 18-70mm? Which lens will be chosen if the pics were taken at 20mm and at f/8?

    Pardon me if my question were too "shallow"! I am a Photoshop dummy!
    hahaa...it doesn't

  9. #29

    Default

    thanks alot, it was amazing.
    However, it was unable to pick up the ISO and WB information. I'm using D70, anyone care to help?

  10. #30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by koonkoon
    thanks alot, it was amazing.
    However, it was unable to pick up the ISO and WB information. I'm using D70, anyone care to help?
    Same here. I realised that it doesn't really pick up the 2 tags up. Maybe the D70 is using non-custom EXIF tags?

    And one more request for those JS scripters out there: Is it possible to add another prompt for us to type in the photo caption ourselves, so that we wouldn't have to manually edit the .js file everytime we want to change a comment?

    This is just great.

  11. #31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAG
    Same here. I realised that it doesn't really pick up the 2 tags up. Maybe the D70 is using non-custom EXIF tags?

    And one more request for those JS scripters out there: Is it possible to add another prompt for us to type in the photo caption ourselves, so that we wouldn't have to manually edit the .js file everytime we want to change a comment?

    This is just great.
    think jopel has a solution 4 u . I think the reason is actually because Nikon seems to store these 2 tags in the caption rather than exif part.

    I've uploaded another script that does exactly the same thing, except prompt you for the caption...thanks for the idea!

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    East, Macpherson
    Posts
    427

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by knoxknocks
    think jopel has a solution 4 u . I think the reason is actually because Nikon seems to store these 2 tags in the caption rather than exif part.

    I've uploaded another script that does exactly the same thing, except prompt you for the caption...thanks for the idea!
    Tks for sharing!

  13. #33

    Default



    For those who just want a copyrightstamp:

    Script begins here -

    // copyright stamp

    if ( documents.length > 0 );

    {

    var originalRulerUnits = preferences.rulerUnits;

    preferences.rulerUnits = Units.PERCENT;


    try

    {

    var docRef = activeDocument;



    // Create a text layer in Photoshop

    var myLayerRef = docRef.artLayers.add();

    myLayerRef.kind = LayerKind.TEXT;

    myLayerRef.name = "CopyRight";

    var myTextRef = myLayerRef.textItem;



    // Change the text to your own between the quotes.


    var CopyRightText = " JOPEL 2005";



    // Set font size in Points


    myTextRef.size = 48;



    //Set font - use GetFontName.js to get exact name


    myTextRef.font = "Arial";



    //Set text colour in RGB values


    var yellow = new SolidColor();
    yellow.rgb.red = 255, yellow.rgb.green = 255, yellow.rgb.blue = 0;


    myTextRef.color = yellow;



    // place the copyright text in the bottom left corner - percentages from left first, then from top.


    myTextRef.position = new Array( 2, 98);



    // Set the Blend Mode of the Text Layer.


    myLayerRef.blendMode = BlendMode.NORMAL;



    // select opacity in percentage


    myLayerRef.opacity = 20;


    myTextRef.contents = CopyRightText;


    }


    catch( e )

    {


    // An error occurred. Restore ruler units, then propagate the error back



    // to the user

    preferences.rulerUnits = originalRulerUnits;

    throw e;

    }

    // Everything went Ok. Restore ruler units

    preferences.rulerUnits = originalRulerUnits;

    }


    Script End Here



    Copy this script to the notepad > save as > copyrightstamp.js > Save as type: Text Documents (*.txt) > Encoding: Unicode

    Close PS if it is activated.
    Save the copyright.js into > C: > Program Files > Adobe > Photoshop CS > Presets > Scripts


    To run the script > File > Scripts > copyright

    This works best with 400 x 600
    Hope you find this helpful.
    Last edited by jopel; 12th April 2005 at 12:19 PM. Reason: to add info

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Northern Sector
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shoon
    need to install the script plugin for ps 7.
    go here
    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=1536
    Thanks for the help. Will try to download and install into my PS.

  15. #35

    Default

    knoxknocks, Cool script!

    Actually, I looked through the script, and for those who want to add in your own name after the caption, replace the line "TI.contents" with this (where xx is your name?)

    Code:
    TI.contents = caption+"  2005, xxxx";
    Another area of improvement: I realised that the selection of lenses is purely based on focal length alone. This causes a bit of problem especially when there are 2 lenses covering the same focal length (@ 50mm, 50mm f/1.8 and 24 - 85).

    I was wondering if anyone could further expand the IF argument so that it also factors in the aperture used. I tried this line out, but it didn't work. I ain't no programmer.

    Code:
      if(focLength>=24 && focLength<=85 && aptNum! ="f/1.8"){ 
         var Lens = "Nikon 24-85 G AF-S f/3.5 - 4.5";
    I placed a f/1.8 there hoping that if the shot was taken @ f/1.8, focal length @ 50mm, this would be selected:

    Code:
      if(focLength=="50"){ 
         var Lens = "Nikon 50mm f/1.8";
    PS: Just to ask, is there any way in which I can "active the copy of the Shooting data to the IPTC Caption field"? Can't really make the D70 script work..
    Last edited by SNAG; 10th April 2005 at 11:04 AM.

  16. #36

    Default

    Is there anyway to make Photoshop Element 2 to run script?

  17. #37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PQ23
    Is there anyway to make Photoshop Element 2 to run script?
    Not so sure.

    Maybe you would like to try snapActions - download here

    http://www.geocities.com/rnlnero/PE2stuff2.html#Updates

    you might find some useful actions.

  18. #38

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PQ23
    Is there anyway to make Photoshop Element 2 to run script?
    Hello if you are thinking of a way to put the copyright or your signature there is an excellent tutorial here

    This tutorial was written using Version 7, but it will work for Elements 2, too.

    Many ways to do the same thing.

    Hope this is what you need. Have Fun
    Last edited by jopel; 14th April 2005 at 09:23 AM.

  19. #39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jopel
    Hello if you are thinking of a way to put the copyright or your signature there is an excellent tutorial here

    This tutorial was written using Version 7, but it will work for Elements 2, too.

    Many ways to do the same thing.

    Hope this is what you need. Have Fun
    Quote Originally Posted by jopel
    Not so sure.

    Maybe you would like to try snapActions - download here

    http://www.geocities.com/rnlnero/PE2stuff2.html#Updates

    you might find some useful actions.

    Can't find anything from the 2 sites about extracting exif data however, they're excellent source to brush up ps skill and to overcome the limitation of PS element. Thanks!

    Actually what I need is to stamp the date (stored in Exif) automatically in batch, without compromising JPG qualities and FREE
    Last edited by PQ23; 14th April 2005 at 12:25 PM.

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,717

    Default

    I tried this but realised that the lens and the range is all wrong... using D70 but they gives me my lens as Canon 100mm macro... in fact i think all gives me the same lens... any way to fix this?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •