Thread: Megapixel Curiousity

Default Megapixel Curiousity

I'm new to digital photography. Need to satisfy this curiousity.

Just a hypothetical example. Two cameras, one 3.2MP the other 10MP. All other things being constant (e.g., same CCD, same settings, etc), will there be quality difference between these two cameras if the print output is 3R?
    Mythbusters - the bigger the explosion, the better it is.

You should read this.

Megapixel Myth
    War is one of the most regrettable human activities.

Quote Originally Posted by mohgui

Just a hypothetical example. Two cameras, one 3.2MP the other 10MP. All other things being constant (e.g., same CCD, same settings, etc), will there be quality difference between these two cameras if the print output is 3R?
    mohgui,

At 3R, there won't any difference. Don't get too fixated on the pixel count. The bottomline is which camera puts out nicer pics as far as your own eye can see, not 3.2mp vs 10mp.

Blog Entries

I agree with ken

Quote Originally Posted by Hewland
    mohgui,

At 3R, there won't any difference. Don't get too fixated on the pixel count. The bottomline is which camera puts out nicer pics as far as your own eye can see, not 3.2mp vs 10mp.
    That's what I thought too. But I have got friends who beg to differ. One says that a 10mp in 3R is not as good as the 3.2mp as the pixels are really cramped up in the given size.

The other says that the 10mp will look better than the 3.2mp in 3R. That's why, I need some expert opinion from fellow-clubsnappers.
    Mythbusters - the bigger the explosion, the better it is.

If u judge quality from prints, yes, small prints may not show up too much of a differences. But again it depends on the printer used.....my experience of working with relative small print size photos, a higher pixel-photos with the appropriate PS and resolution enhancement (not necessary enlargement) can improve quality...provided time is on yr side.

if there is an apple priced at 3 dollars,