Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Getting film based SLR.

  1. #21
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,026

    Default ..why remember when you can scroll....

    Well....FYI,

    Why quote someones user interface experience when its better to go out there and get hold of one. No need memorizing the functions as there is a menu driven user interface....if you can use a digital camera with menu driven function, this one on the Dynax 7 is a breeze...

    You can even preset two programs according to your normal needs or special secret prize winning settings.......

    In case when you need it......its merely a nob turn away..


    Regards,
    me
    Last edited by sulhan; 28th August 2002 at 10:54 AM.

  2. #22

    Default Re: ..why remember when you can scroll....

    Originally posted by sulhan
    Well....FYI,

    Why quote someones user interface experience when it sbetter to go tout ther and get hold of one. No need memprizing the functions as there is a menu driven user interface....if you can use a digital camera with menudriven function, this one on the Dynax 7 is a breeze...

    You can even preset two programs according to your normal needs or special secret prze wnning settings.......

    In case when you need it......its merely a nob turn away..


    Regards,
    me
    hehheee.. hope that someone see this.....
    hhehehhehe
    Kana suan like mad....
    hehhehahhahaaaaa

  3. #23

    Default Re: Re: Re: ....just get a Minolta Dynax 7.....

    Originally posted by Kit


    If you can't remember the functions, it means you don't need them at all. So............
    not really. bluestrike is actually refering to me.

    1: how often do you need timer ?
    2: how often do you need to bracket ?
    3: how often do you need mid-reload?

    These are only a few examples, if I need to use these functions, I will refer to the book(which is always in my bag).


    bluestrike>> <<< me
    Last edited by ninelives; 28th August 2002 at 01:33 PM.

  4. #24

    Default Re: Re: Re: Re: ....just get a Minolta Dynax 7.....

    Originally posted by ninelives



    In the pics, who is the sarmuri and who is the victim?

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by YSLee


    *sighs* All the new people who probably have no idea what an aperture ring is all about...
    Right!

    Actually, firstly, the aperture ring is not a Nikon thing. It's the traditional way - even Leica, Hasselblad, Contax, etc lenses has an aperture ring. Old Canon FD lenses, Minolta MD lenses all have aperture rings.

    Back in the old days, (as in like 15 years ago), when we learnt photography, the only way to adjust aperture is through the aperture ring, and shutter is via the shutter dial. Regardless of make, these 2 will almost always be in the same place - shutter dial near the shutter button, aperture ring on lens. People who used to use manual cameras will appreciate that.

    Now, with all those funky electronics in modern cameras and funky functions (90% of which you don't use), and with the increase in precision of exposure control (you can now adjust aperture in 1/3 stops as opposed to typically 1/2 - 1 stop on the aperture ring), the aperture ring has been rendered useless by something called the command dial. And camera makers start to cut cost by taking the aperture ring completely off the lens coz it's no longer required (think Nikon G lenses, Canon lenses, Minolta lenses etc)

    This new fangled dial doesn't feel shiok to the older users, just doesn't feel right. When I first got my F100, I actually set the custom function to let me adjust apertures via the aperture ring - the traditional way.

    Regards
    CK

  6. #26

    Default

    Yes, I do know how to make it work, but I have no idea how it works.

    And why do we need to set it to f22 (or smallest aparture) and then lock it using a switch when not using Ap mode?

  7. #27

    Default

    Wheee....... I'm back on the dark side after selling off my G2. Currently on a eos 30 until i have enough moolah to get the d60

  8. #28

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    This new fangled dial doesn't feel shiok to the older users, just doesn't feel right. When I first got my F100, I actually set the custom function to let me adjust apertures via the aperture ring - the traditional way.

    Regards
    CK
    with the command dial, i get all sorts of cool f-stop numbers I've never seen before... f/6.7, f/9.5... so exciting!

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Zoomer
    Yes, I do know how to make it work, but I have no idea how it works.

    And why do we need to set it to f22 (or smallest aparture) and then lock it using a switch when not using Ap mode?
    So that the camera can open it to the selected f-stop? IF you take out the lens, you find that if you set to minimum aperture, you can 'open up' the aperture blades using the lever behind. But you can't do that when you set to the wide open setting.

    Regards
    CK

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by erwinx


    with the command dial, i get all sorts of cool f-stop numbers I've never seen before... f/6.7, f/9.5... so exciting!
    That's the only advantage - you get 1/3 or 1/2 stop increments.

    Regards
    CK

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •