Thread: Sky hard to edit

Default Sky hard to edit

I'm very new to photography. This is my first time going out to take night landscapes. I went to city hall and took some shots. Here are the results:

Somehow my sky looks very graduated. Is it because my post-processing sucks? lol. I know my compositions are damn bad. Any other pointers? ><
    Thanks.

Default Re: Sky hard to edit

More photos

More photos

Maybe because I'm too newbie to understand your question. What do you mean by "sky hard to edit" and "sky looks very graduated"?

The time that you took these photos were not the best for good light, the compositions are not great, but I'm not quite sure what you think is wrong with the skies here.

like..... the sky looks like it has many "layers" instead of being smooth. lol

Unless you go to the deepest, darkest desert, far far away from any city, then shoot only at around midnight, you will not get a night sky without background light bleed causing some gradation.
    Alpha

long exposure + buildings with lights ...

nt suprised. shoot earlier

as for the "layered" look, that comes from JPEG compression. You'll need to save at a higher image quality level (11-12 in Photoshop) to avoid them.

As for touch-up, plenty of tutorials online, but if you keep on saving at higher compression levels (lower picture quality) it won't make a difference.

Enhancing The Sky In An Image With Photoshop

How to Make Skies Beautiful with GIMP: 15 steps (with pictures)
    Alpha

thanks. means i need to reduce my exposure + shoot at a earlier time? btw, time of shot is ~10pm-2am.

GG. LOL.
    Last edited by holyxiaoxin; 11th March 2013 at 06:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by holyxiaoxin View Post
    thanks. means i need to reduce my exposure + shoot at a earlier time? btw, time of shot is ~10pm-2am.

GG. LOL.