View Poll Results: Would you get the new "olydak" DSLR?

11. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes!!! I hate my current film based slr mount and would love a slr designed for digital use

2 18.18%
  • Yes!! I am a newbie and don't have affliations

2 18.18%
  • No!! Is there any difference at all?

0 0%

7 63.64%

Thread: Olydak?

Default Olydak?

There's a rumour that 'Olydak' will be annouced at Photokina 2002 during September. It's a DSLR system jointly developed by Kodak and Olympus. Would you abandon your old Nikon/Canon/Minolta system to go for a new system altogether desgined for digital use?
    Last edited by chaotic; 26th August 2002 at 06:25 AM.

the suspense is killing me!

i hope this is the real thing, i am looking forward to a much improved version of the e-series.

yeah been thinking it's so weird oly is sticking to Manual SLR OR fixed lens AF... the new 500 film AF looks nice though...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

Default prediction about the OLYDAK 4/3" CCD DSLR system

I guess most of you here have heard of the rumour that OLYMPUS and KODAK are working togather to build a SLR using a Kodak 4/3 inch 5 mp CCD
    Although I still call it a rumour but it is actually a fact that such DLSR will be build and it is just the finer point that are not clear.
    Some says it may come out in this years's Photokina. It will be the brightest new product if olympus can catch it (even if just a vapourware announcement).

I for one thinks that this format makes a lot of scence. The smaller image circle means faster longer lens can be build for cheaper.

here's my pridiction of the OLYDAK DSLR system

(2X "focal lenth multipliyer" so a 25mm lens here has the same angle of view as a 50mm lens on 135 system)

focal length____ aperture__positioning__ weight__ Price#______________ remark
    20mm-80mm__f/3.5-4.5 come w body 300g__US$200____ 4X zoom equl to 40-160mm