Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta > Konica-Minolta legacy

Konica-Minolta legacy The essentials of imaging. Forum for past Konica-Minolta cameras and equipment.

Old 25th March 2005   #1
TME

Default Buying 7D tomorrow 26/03/2005

I'm finally getting my 7D... any advice as to which shops gives the best price? I'm going to the usual places in Funan, SLS and and both Peninsulars. What to look out for? Freebies? Also looking for a 1GB card. And Optech strap (dun like the original strap, tried Drudkh's camera). And vertical grip of course! Plus spare batteries.... Ballpark prices would be very helpful...

Perhaps you can help me by placing your preferred destination next to the item in the list below: Thanks!

1) KM Dynax 7D
2) VC-7D Vertical Control Grip
3) Spare batteries (EastGear, where else?)
4) Optech Strap
5) 1GB CF card

Edit: Anyone know if the new batch of 7Ds are using the latest firmware?

Last edited by TME; 25th March 2005 at 11:03 PM.
Old 25th March 2005   #2
Del_CtrlnoAlt

think u got most of the stuff needed, eastgear still sells the 'cheap & good' NP-400 in the market, 1700mah... i've no problem with that...

think CP just came in the stock for the Optech strap. otherwise have to go TK foto.

btw i think the Free 1GB CF is only for the exhibition only, most shops will not offer to give u the 1GB CF unless u pay retail price. its better to get a discount on the body itself than to buy at retail price. 1GB is about 150, depends on the speed & brand.
Old 25th March 2005   #3
TME

I always find CP more expensive than AP, but not sure this time around.... never keep track and ask for e-quotes...
Sponsored Link
Old 26th March 2005   #4
sulhan
Advertiser

Default Try one of those shops along serangoon....

Originally Posted by TME
I'm finally getting my 7D... any advice as to which shops gives the best price? I'm going to the usual places in Funan, SLS and and both Peninsulars. What to look out for? Freebies? Also looking for a 1GB card. And Optech strap (dun like the original strap, tried Drudkh's camera). And vertical grip of course! Plus spare batteries.... Ballpark prices would be very helpful...

Perhaps you can help me by placing your preferred destination next to the item in the list below: Thanks!

1) KM Dynax 7D
2) VC-7D Vertical Control Grip
3) Spare batteries (EastGear, where else?)
4) Optech Strap
5) 1GB CF card

Edit: Anyone know if the new batch of 7Ds are using the latest firmware?
Hiee Pals....

Got a 1GB 80x Lexar for 130....the evening before my trip to US....
the shop above shingshiong....

rgds,
sulhan
Old 26th March 2005   #5
wenx

Originally Posted by sulhan
Hiee Pals....

Got a 1GB 80x Lexar for 130....the evening before my trip to US....
the shop above shingshiong....

rgds,
sulhan
Hey, where is this ShingShiong tt you mention? **** man, I just bought the exact same card yesterday at Eastgear for 139! Wasted 9 bucks...
Old 26th March 2005   #6
theITguy

Sorry if this offend anyone, but I thought you say buying 4D tmr Nowadays too many digital "D"
Old 26th March 2005   #7
actionman

Originally Posted by wenx
Hey, where is this ShingShiong tt you mention? **** man, I just bought the exact same card yesterday at Eastgear for 139! Wasted 9 bucks...
arh price for 1gb 80X is now just 139?
Old 26th March 2005   #8
Del_CtrlnoAlt

2gb how much now ar? still 300+?
Old 26th March 2005   #9
wenx

Originally Posted by actionman
arh price for 1gb 80X is now just 139?
You should check out how much Sulhan bought his 1Gb 80x, only for $130. A much better deal...
Old 26th March 2005   #10
TME

Wah piangz!!!! Where u people buy these things from??!!! I bought my Lexar 80X from CP at $145... EastGear offered $149....

Anyway, reporting from my(mis) adventure this afternoon... somehow i have a feeling that I could have paid less....

I bought the following from Cathay Photo:
1) KM Dynax 7D - $2383.50 (equote was $2270 without 5% GST)
2) KM VC-7D - $270
3) Lexar 80X CF card 1GB - $145
4) Optech Strap (Wide) - $24

I bought this from EastGear:
1) NP-400 1700mAH battery - $34.95

Anyone got these stuff cheaper anywhere else? The Lexar 80X WA already know lar.... Sulhan got his at $130!

Thanks!
Ming Ern

P.S. Cathay Photo offering the 7D kit at $3150 + 1GB Hagiwara CF card. The kit comes with the 7D and the KM 17-35mm f/2.8-4 wideangle lens. If you subtract the cost of the camera (based on my price and $130 for the card (overpriced), the lens costs almost $800).... rather buy separately.

BTW, I was also quoted $215 for a Manfrotto 190Pro plus 484RC2 ballhead (no damper control) for $215 ($135 for legs + 80 for ballhead) from Alan Photo. Is this worth the money? I was looking at the more expensive 488RC2 which costs $148. I want a ballhead with a spirit level and quick release plate plus damper control. Any other recommendations?
Old 26th March 2005   #11
TME

Anyway, how to find out the firmware version of my camera? I notice that my zoom function only allows one step. I thought the firmware upgrade solved that problem.... thanks!
Old 26th March 2005   #12
Flare

Originally Posted by TME
Anyway, how to find out the firmware version of my camera? I notice that my zoom function only allows one step. I thought the firmware upgrade solved that problem.... thanks!
hit the zoom, it goes max zoom lvl, roll the rear wheel to adjust zoom level.

for firmware version, hit Menu, then display (the second button on the left of screen)

(I have no idea, but I always pay more for my stuff than the guys here, maybe I'm in the army, look too green liao, like veges, nice to chop)

Last edited by Flare; 26th March 2005 at 07:23 PM.
Old 26th March 2005   #13
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by Flare

for firmware version, hit Menu, then display (the second button on the left of screen)

(I have no idea, but I always pay more for my stuff than the guys here, maybe I'm in the army, look too green liao, like veges, nice to chop)
strange leh... i not farmer, yet they treat me like a carrot..
Old 26th March 2005   #14
Flare

Maybe we look too young liao...
Old 26th March 2005   #15
actionman

Originally Posted by wenx
You should check out how much Sulhan bought his 1Gb 80x, only for $130. A much better deal...
hehe i long time never update on the price anymore, eastgear website still put the price at $189...
Old 26th March 2005   #16
deslim27

Maybe we look too young liao...
b'cos you and DCA look rich!!
Old 26th March 2005   #17
Flare

Originally Posted by deslim27
b'cos you and DCA look rich!!

Maybe DCA looks rich, but which part of me looks wealthy? I only have lok-kok cv clothes in a very limited wardrobe... which is predominently occupied by uniform in various shades of green... And I got this short modified SAF standard 4321 haircut...

wah... poor me...
Old 26th March 2005   #18
TME

Thanks! Found out that my firmware version was still ver1.00e! Anyway I got it upgraded to ver1.10e using alkaline AA batteries!!! Woah! And then I read the online FAQ after that..... cos I kept noticing that although my flash fired, the picture was severely underexposed and my shutter speed like macham no flash connected like that.... guess what? The FAQ said that alkaline and zinc-carbon AA batteries are not to be used cos the camera won't take pics.... good thing the camera updated the firmware without any problem..... phew...
Old 27th March 2005   #19
Flare

Originally Posted by TME
Thanks! Found out that my firmware version was still ver1.00e! Anyway I got it upgraded to ver1.10e using alkaline AA batteries!!! Woah! And then I read the online FAQ after that..... cos I kept noticing that although my flash fired, the picture was severely underexposed and my shutter speed like macham no flash connected like that.... guess what? The FAQ said that alkaline and zinc-carbon AA batteries are not to be used cos the camera won't take pics.... good thing the camera updated the firmware without any problem..... phew...
Wah, TME, just got new camera and feeling so brave liao...

Anyway, the internal flash + rear sync mode don't seems to work with certain shutter speed (nv really test, but oh well, it's internal flash which I've used only like for 6 shots). And the flash sync shutter speed is quite slow ley, so when HSS is engaged, flash power becomes greatly limited... sometimes really macam dun have...

But well, don't think i need to tell you. You more "old bird" than me.
Old 27th March 2005   #20
Drudkh

If you're thinking of getting the 190pro, I recommend you the Slick 330DX. It weights only 1.5Kg and it is as sturdy as the 190pro.
Closed Thread