Thread: Old man

Default Old man

1.in what area is critique to be sought?

I will like feedback on the composition and photography techniques.

I am wondering more sharpness is desired for the subject in the photo.
    I just took a shot on-the-fly with EF 50mm f1.4 at f1.4.

2.what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

I want to show how the man in the photo has aged.
    What he is doing at that moment, I feel, it's not important. I just want to capture his look when he is focused on doing something (actually cutting finger nails)

3.under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

Nothing special, just to capture natural look...

4.what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

Maybe you can share what you think of this photo. What does it tells you?

Many thanks!

Hi!

I'm quite new to photography. Do take my comments with a pinch of salt, yeah?

First off, I love the intention or rather the choice of subject. Would have been cool if you had captured him clipping his nails!

However, I do think there are many elements that distract the viewer from focus of your image. Especially the chair's wooden armrest and the stroller. These objects don't help to tell the story that you are going after, in my humble opinion. The tv and part of the cabinet could be removed or cropped off or bokeh-ed to better focus attention to your subject, perhaps.

Technical aspects-wise, I am not knowledgable enough to contribute much. But I think that the old man does look rather sharp! Nice! But is the image a tad underexposed?

Default Re: Old man

Hi there =)