Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: is strobeframe a necessary?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    99

    Default is strobeframe a necessary?

    if I am going to take a lot of vertical portrait , do you think it is better to mount my flash vertically with strobe frame ? will there be a very big different if i do not ?

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    how about getting a flash that could swivel?
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    5,499

    Default

    if u do a lot of portrait, instead of stroboframe, why not invest in a wireless slave unit? a lot more flexible and doesn't cost that much more than a stroboframe bracket.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Originally posted by mpenza
    how about getting a flash that could swivel?
    but still it would cast side shadow isn't it?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Originally posted by firefox13
    if u do a lot of portrait, instead of stroboframe, why not invest in a wireless slave unit? a lot more flexible and doesn't cost that much more than a stroboframe bracket.
    u forget something , in wirless mode :

    1: multiple flash cannot be used
    2: HSS is disable
    3: pre-flash is disable
    4: only ttl will be working.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    5,499

    Default

    Originally posted by anonymous
    u forget something , in wirless mode :

    1: multiple flash cannot be used
    huh? no multiple flash? why not? i'm not sure what system u using but on Nikon, the primary flash sets off the slave (fill-in) flash. you got a point about the TTL function though...

    IMHO i'm not sure how much more useful it'll be to mount your flash vertically. i would think a primary flash with fill-in would be more useful... less direct light falling on the subject and more highlights...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    99

    Default

    multiple flash mean the flash flashes many time, maybe 5hz 10 times.

    I do not mean using 2 or 3 flashes.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by anonymous
    multiple flash mean the flash flashes many time, maybe 5hz 10 times.

    I do not mean using 2 or 3 flashes.
    that's not so useful under normal portrait taking right?
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  9. #9

    Default

    how about investing in a foldable reflector?
    Last edited by cyanbloodbane; 25th August 2002 at 10:20 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •