Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: MaxOnline 1500 will be upgraded to 2000 w.e.f. 1 April!

  1. #1
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default MaxOnline 1500 will be upgraded to 2000 w.e.f. 1 April!

    Got the letter today ... yay ... add another 0.5Mbps to the download speed ...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Punggol Park
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Is there a need to change the modem or any hardware ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore / Japan / China
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adam Goi
    Got the letter today ... yay ... add another 0.5Mbps to the download speed ...

    hehehe....just a numbers game...dun think there'll be any difference

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    The bandwidth is controlled by the configurations down at SCV's side, not by us. So no need to change hardware/software.

    I still remember hitting 1000k/s download last time when I was a trial user the 2mbps is not doing much justice

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Punggol Park
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    The bandwidth is controlled by the configurations down at SCV's side, not by us. So no need to change hardware/software.

    I still remember hitting 1000k/s download last time when I was a trial user the 2mbps is not doing much justice
    Thanks.

    Last thing I need to do is to BBB a modem

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Hope is not a April Fool Joke as it's 1st April...

  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeff49er
    Thanks.

    Last thing I need to do is to BBB a modem
    Just BUY BUY BUY!!!

  8. #8

    Default

    price upgrad will be my concern

  9. #9
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    If they charge for that measely 0.5mbps, I will tell them to GTH.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    In my own world
    Posts
    1,314

    Default

    Any significance between 3500 and 6500 or even comparing to 1500 plan?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Punggol Park
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rainman
    Any significance between 3500 and 6500 or even comparing to 1500 plan?
    The diff is u pay extra $20 per month

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Redhill
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    im waiting for all to upgrade theirs to 6500..then I got less users on my 1500 haha...

  13. #13
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alechim
    im waiting for all to upgrade theirs to 6500..then I got less users on my 1500 haha...
    Nope, 6500, 1500 are all gimmicks, the bandwidth still goes through the same pipe, the 'congestion' is created by the settings on SCV part, they tweak the allocation pipe based on your plans.

    So even if all jump to 6500, they are still using the same pipe as you, and will be more congested now

  14. #14

    Default

    not much difference. their international BW capacity is still the same and your upload speed is still capped at a measly 128kbps. how to do high-speed videoconferencing?
    eyes | head | feet | flickr | APAD: straight from camera

  15. #15
    Senior Member Big Kahuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    2,127

    Default

    1.5Mbps is already very large bandwidth for internet usage IMO and rarely anyone fully utilising it.......Actually starhub should buck the trend and stop all this bandwidth numbering crabs......if they are genuinely in providing higher speed......why not up the oversea pipe so that we get more juice to oversea website???

  16. #16
    Senior Member afbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Planet SG™
    Posts
    483

    Default

    Maybe its an April fool's joke. Ya, i think not much of a difference. Just to make it sounds faster.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Jurong
    Posts
    467

    Default

    Hm.. I haven't receive the letter yet.....
    Wonder if it's a one-time upgrade for all user... or they going to do it by batches...

  18. #18

    Default

    ermmm.... serious? how come i dun have the letter yet?

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    HOME
    Posts
    306

    Default

    yipeeeeeeee...............

    wait....., i think i am using singnet..............
    anyway, shouldn't have any difference, unless you only surf Singapore sites with big bandwidth..........

    wow, can file income tax faster now.

    wait again.......alamak my company already submit so I just need to do nil submission.........

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rncw
    hehehe....just a numbers game...dun think there'll be any difference

    Fully agree! I got mine upgraded from 3000 to 6500 recently, yet I cannot see/feel any noticeable change!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •